DENVILLE, NJ -  Jennifer Skomial, of Roxbury, was recently chosen as the Morris County Teacher of the Year and now is in the running to be named New Jersey State Teacher of the Year.

Skomial has been a teacher at Morris County School of Technology in Denville for the past 10 years. For the past five years, Skomial has taught the Academy for Education and Learning, a 4-year program for students interested in future careers in education.

This is a full-circle moment for Skomial as she attended the same program while in high school. Now, she spends her days coaching students as they teach in the on-site preschool, planning guest speakers and field trips and creating lessons that will engage her students in child development, classroom management and other education-related topics.

Sign Up for E-News

She is driven to encourage more students to go into the field that she holds so dear. Skomial has served in the formal role of Lead Teacher by mentoring new teachers, establishing professional learning communities, providing professional development opportunities to colleagues and serving on several district and school-wide committees. 

“I state with conviction that I have never worked with a more genuinely devoted teacher,” said MCST Principal Lynne Jackson.  “Jennifer Skomial is innovative, creative, and collaborative. She consistently brings out the very best in her students and colleagues.”

The County Teachers of the Year will network with educators throughout the state and serve as ambassadors for New Jersey’s public schools. Additional information can be found on the Governor’s Educator of the Year webpage.

A panel of educators then will select the New Jersey State Teacher of the Year based on written applications, video submissions and interviews with the County Teachers of the Year. The State Teacher of the Year is expected to be announced at the State Board of Education's October meeting, and will go on to represent New Jersey in competing for the title of National Teacher of the Year.

Skomial was nominated for the Morris County Teacher of the Year honor in February.