ROXBURY, NJ - Dozens of Roxbury High School and Eisenhower Middle School students were recognized recently by the township school board for their 2019 performing arts achievements.

The honors were presented at a board meeting where Roxbury Performing Arts Lead Teacher Patrick Hachey directed the Roxbury High School Classic Sounds Honors students with a brief performance prior to their recognition.

Classic Sounds Honors is a curricular group at the high school.

Sign Up for E-News

“This year, they had quite a journey that took us to Pittsburgh," Hachey said. "Back in June, I submitted recordings from last year’s Classic Sounds Honors to the National Association of Music Education who was having an Eastern Division Conference in Pittsburg representing 12 states from the northeast corridor. Out of over 200 submissions of orchestras, bands and choirs, the Classic Sounds Honors was selected to represent the model high school choir at that convention in Pittsburgh.”

The RHS Classic Sounds Honors 2019 NAfME Eastern Division Conference representatives were Omar Abdallah, Talia Atanasio, Taylor Bailey, Cassie Batta, Matthew Becker, Alec Burns, Laurel Cousineau, Carla Farris, Grace Gentle, Cole Gibson, Bryan Gonzalez, Ian Hachey, Jacob Hachey, Belton Haig, Ella Hermey, Melissa Hughes, Danny Kelly, Austin Kurbansade, Justin Kurbansade, Ivan Largo, Josh Lemma, Julia Malczynski, Matthew Malsbury, Cristian Marrero, John Mayo, Emma McDonald, Amanda Melchers, Emily Miller, Cierrah Mouzone, Devan Mroz, Joseph Negron, Serah Njoroge, Matthew North, Ronnie Paddock, David Petrov, Melissa Priester, Olivia Rebernik, Mackenzy Reilly, Emily Rheinhardt, Marc Sarinelli, Spencer Scalamoni, Christopher Scire, Kayla Streppone, Caitlyn Valente, Andrew Velasquez, Emily Verbeke, Kaitlyn Winters and Jacob Wood.

This year’s choir president, Chris Scire, accepted the commemorative plaque on behalf of the Classic Sounds Honors. The plaque will be displayed in the choir wing with the other numerous accomplishments of the department.

Another of Roxbury’s ensembles, Indoor Percussion, had a successful year as well.

"The Indoor Percussion Ensemble has been in existence for five years and in that time, they’ve become quite the force to be reckoned with," Hachey said. "In their fifth year of competing, they are currently the 2019 US Bands Scholastic A Marching Percussion Champions."

Those students recognized were Olivia Bazewicz, Kayla Bouvier, Austin Cummis, Olivia DeVries, Alex Doty, Ryan Fedorko, Jonathan Fragale, Brodie Haughey, Dylan Hayeck, Anna Kisatsky, Joseph Kovach, Michael Kovach, Jeremy Maida, Zack Maida, Marissa Mangano, John Mayo, Emily Miller, Matthew Mineo, Joshua Moore, Nicholas Morris, Jennifer Motzer, Devan Mroz, Joshua Pinto, Mason Planker, Colin Robertson, Robert Rust, Joseph Sabando, Eric Shumaker, Ryan Shumaker, Evan Valentino, Braden Whitaker, Andrew Wilson, Sarah Wilson, James Winters and Meghan Wyse.

Senior leaders Emily Miller and Zachary Maida accepted the commemorative plaque on behalf of the Indoor Percussion Champions. This plaque will be displayed in the band wing with the other numerous accomplishments of the department.

In addition to the many honors that Roxbury students are achieving in the schools, there have been several students who go outside the building to participate in regional, state and even national levels. Those students that were accepted into the Region I Honors Band were Brennan Andrews, Christian Maroulis, Justin Masi and Andrew Wilson.

Masi was also recognized for being accepted into the Region I Junior Honor Jazz Band.

Jessica Miller, Nicholas Morris, Zachary Solano and Michael Stanzilis from the high school were recognized for being accepted into the Region I Senior Honor Band.

Solano was also accepted into the New Jersey All-State Band this year playing tuba for that ensemble.

Playing in the New Jersey All-State Orchestra during teacher’s convention was Kaitlyn Winters.

There were also four students accepted into the Eastern Wind Symphony Youth Band: Abigail Dietz, Jonathan Fragale, Hailey Gabloff and Emmanuel Torode.

Ava Milsom, an eighth-grader from EMS was accepted into the Region I Junior Honor Choir.

At the high school level, there were four students accepted into the Region I Senior Honor Choir. They were Marisa Brinkman, Heather Doherty, Joseph Negron and Sheryl Peng.

“Back in April of last year, we received word that the Roxbury Choir Department had broken their own record on the number of students accepted into the All-State Choir with 21 students being accepted in that ensemble," Hachey said.

Those students recognized were Taylor Bailey, Alec Burns, Bryan Gonzalez, Ian Hachey, Jacob Hachey, Melissa Hughes, Austin Kurbansade, Justin Kurbansade, Ivan Largo, Julia Malczynski, Matthew Malsbury, Cristian Marrero, Amanda Melchers, Joseph Negron, Matthew North, Emily Rheinhardt, Marc Sarinelli, Christopher Scire, Kayla Streppone, Andrew Velasquez and Jacob Wood.

"We’ve received word this year that we have broken that record yet again, now with 22 students being accepted into the All-State Choir ensemble,” shared Hachey.

Seven students were accepted into the ACDA National Honor Choir. They included Bryan Gonzalez, Ian Hachey, Austin Kurbansade, Ivan Largo, Matthew Malsbury, Joseph Negron and Jacob Wood.

Also recognized by Roxbury High School Principal Dominick Miller were this year’s Valedictorian Carrie Luan and Salutatorian Robert Rust.

In addition to recognizing performing arts achievements and academic scholars, Roxbury Director of Athletics Stu Mason recognized the girls high school lacrosse team for being conference champions this year.

Those girls, under the coaching leadership of Kevin Bewalder, included Anna Biank, Heather Blanchard, Lauren Byrne, Meagan Byrne, Emily Christiansen, Kelly Ernst, Lauren Ernst , Allison Fleming, Victoria Koenig, Nicole Lisa, Carly Longtine, Deanna Maugeri, Paige Metje, Cassidy Miller, Melissa Murphy, Mary Piccitto, Jessica Pichat, Mackenzie Pickett, Zoe Pickett, Elizabeth Poissant, Tara Roumes, Jenna Segrave, Fiona Sparano, Emily Stanich, Nikki Tedesco and Lauren Tom.

The last presentation of the evening was to recognize and honor this year’s Educators of the Year. Those individuals included:

  • Lauren Mason, a first-grade teacher at Franklin School;
  • Theresa Trimmer, a special education teacher at Jefferson School;
  • Tina Leister, a fourth-grade teacher at Kennedy School;
  • Alyssa Bellardino, a third-grade teacher at Nixon School;
  • Cindy Perez, the principal’s secretary from Lincoln/Roosevelt School;
  • Shannon Rodas, eighth-grade English/Language Arts teacher at Eisenhower Middle School; and
  • Justin Kulick, science teacher at Roxbury High School.

Each educator was introduced by their building principal and presented with a certificate and crystal apple.