Arts & Entertainment

Press Releases

August Symphony Orchestra to Present Free Concert in Westfield on July 29

The orchestra will be conducted by Michael Avagliano, who serves as music director of the Central Jersey Symphony and the Summit Symphony and conductor of the Drew Chamber Orchestra.

WESTFIELD, NJ – The August Symphony Orchestra (TASO) announced its annual free concert will be held on Sunday, July 29, at 3:00 pm at the Presbyterian Church in Westfield, under the baton of conductor, Michael Avagliano.

The program features the passionate energy of Brahms’ First Symphony, Haydn’s popular trumpet concerto in E flat major with guest soloist Andrew Filippone, and select pieces by Mendelssohn and Strauss.

Haydn’s radiant concerto in E flat major is the most famous trumpet concerto and possibly Haydn's most popular concerto. The spirited piece is chock full of sparkling humor, dramatic surprises, harmonic detours, while showcasing the expressive artistry of both the soloist and trumpet. Guest soloist Andrew Filippone is principal trumpeter for the Plainfleld Symphony Orchestra and teaches trumpet at Drew University.

Sign Up for E-News

Brahms Symphony 1 in C Minor is a complex piece with passionate energy. It is widely regarded as one of the greatest symphonies of the Austro-German tradition. In this, his first symphony, Brahms pays homage to Beethoven with a majestic theme, heard in the strings, that closely resembles the “Ode to Joy” melody from Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony.

The charming Strauss Serenade for Winds is thoroughly pleasing for its special fluctuation from calm moments such as the simple, sweet beginning to moments of great intensity.

"Strauss was still a teenager when he wrote the Serenade, and I think that youthful exuberance shows in the piece,” said Michael Avagliano.

Mendelssohn’s Overture in C Major is both energetic and dramatic. It is the composer’s first large piece for wind instruments; prior to that he had only written for strings or piano. 

This year marks the third season the orchestra will be conducted by Michael Avagliano, who has served as music director of the Central Jersey Symphony since 2008 and was recently appointed music director of the Summit Symphony. He is on the faculty of Drew University as conductor of the Drew Chamber Orchestra and violin professor. As a violinist and violist, Mr. Avagliano has appeared with the New Jersey Symphony, the Singapore Symphony, the Strauss Symphony of America, and the Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra, and is an active performer in the New York area.

“Maestro Avagliano brings a wealth of talent and expertise to The August Symphony Orchestra,” states Robert Whiteley, President of TASO. “We are honored to have him lead our orchestra and maintain our high standard of quality performance of musical works.”

The Presbyterian Church in Westfield is located at 140 Mountain Ave. at the intersection of East Broad St. It offers ample parking and accessibility. There are parking lots at the back entrance to the church and across the street from the Sanctuary next to the Church Cemetery, plus plenty of on-street parking. The church is handicap accessible via a ramp in the front of the Sanctuary and through the Parish House which is ground level with elevator access.

The concert is made possible in part by funds from the Union County Office of Cultural & Heritage Affairs, a partner of the New Jersey State Council on the Arts and a generous donation from Two River Community Bank with branches in Westfield, Cranford and Fanwood.

About The August Symphony Orchestra
The August Symphony Orchestra (TASO) is a non-profit organization whose objective is to enrich the Garden State community by offering an accessible way for classical orchestral music to be performed, listened to, and appreciated by all. TASO’s mission is to maintain a high standard of quality and performance while bringing people together and upholding a spirit of accessibility, community, and mutual love for classical music. The orchestra welcomes and appreciates the financial support from the public as well as from local companies, financial institutions, and New Jersey state grant foundations. For further information please visit:

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

Scotch Plains/Fanwood

Westfield Family Continues ‘Summer of Kindness’ with Infant Clothing Drive

July 12, 2018

WESTFIELD, NJ — Westfield mom and teacher Sara Liptack is continuing her family’s “Summer of Kindess” with an infant clothing for Furniture Assist, an organization in Springfield that helps formerly homeless people, veterans, the elderly, fire victims, refugees and people fleeing domestic violence.

“I said, ‘What’s the one thing you really ...

It's Not What You Are Eating, It's What's Eating You


Emotional eating can be described as episodes of binge-eating, grazing and/or eating when not hungry to soothe feelings. Emotional eaters have a pattern of eating to cope with stress, emotional conflicts and problems of daily life.

Emotional eating is eating for reasons other than hunger. Instead of physical symptoms initiating the eating, ...

Send a Message to Nick Scutari and His Cronies: Corruption Has No Place in Union County

July 19, 2018

Dear Editor:

The Union County Freeholders’ decision to appoint State Senator and newly-elected Union County Democratic Chairman, Nick Scutari’s chief of staff, Ed Oatman as County Manager smelled of corruption from the start.

To place a political consultant like Oatman in the role of overseeing 2,800 employees and running the day-to-day operations of the $500 million County ...

When to Dial 911: Scotch Plains Rescue Squad Tip of the Month

July 10, 2018

There are many times you should call 911. If you or someone around you is in true medical distress, such as experiencing difficulty breathing, chest pains, bleeding, possible stroke, or any other serious health issues, then 911 should be called as soon as possible. If there are wires down, fire, a crime in progress, or other dangerous conditions to people or property, call 911 ...

An Evening with Dianne Grossman, Mallory's Mom & Founder of Mallory's Army

July 20, 2018

SCOTCH PLAINS/FANWOOD, NJ -- Mallory Rose Grossman, a 12-year-old girl from Rockaway, NJ, took her own life on June 14, 2017, after enduring horrific bullying. Following the pain of this senseless tragedy, her parents, Dianne and Seth Grossman, started a charitable foundation called Mallory’s Army™. Its mission is to change behavior, provide education to parents, and create enrichment ...

Upcoming Events


Mon, July 23, 8:00 PM

Scotch Plains Public Library, Scotch Plains

View the Night Sky at the Scotch Plains Public ...

Arts & Entertainment Education


Wed, July 25, 6:00 PM

JCC of Central NJ, Scotch Plains

The JCC’s Barracudas Swim Team Meet the Coaches ...



Wed, July 25, 7:00 PM


Downtown Westfield 5K & Pizza Extravaganza