HACKENSACK, NJ -- Scotch Plains-Fanwood repeated as Hackensack Tournament champions on Saturday, April 13, by defeating Teaneck 31-29 in the final set. This tournament included several ranked teams including, Harrison, Lakeland and Kearny.

Pool A
Scotch Plains-Fanwood (7-1); Teaneck (5-3); Hackensack (5-3); Kearny (3-5); Bergen Charter (0-8)

Pool B
Harrison (7-1); Passaic (5-3); Bergen Catholic (4-4); Lakeland (4-4); Garfield (0-8)

Sign Up for E-News

Harrison won Pool B with Passaic taking the 2nd seed, while the Raiders won Pool A with Teaneck taking the 2nd seed. SPF defeated Passaic 25-16 in the first semi-final, while Teaneck shocked Harrison by beating them 25-23 in the other semi-final.

Scotch Plains-Fanwood went ahead 21-16 in the final, only to have Teaneck fight back and deadlock the final at 23-23. After several rallies of each team fighting off championship points, the Raiders were able to pull off a 31-29 final set victory.

Scotch Plains-Fanwood Raiders Boys Volleyball

No. 1 Colin Donahue
No. 2 Braedon Cooke
No. 3 Ryan Metzger
No. 7 Peter Sailsman
No. 8 Paul Szanto
No. 11 George Waweru​​​​​​​
No. 12 Steven Verrastro​​​​​​​
No. 14 Jimmy Walsh
No. 15 Tony Ngumah​​​​​​​
No. 16 Griffin Pawelec​​​​​​​
No. 18 Nate Sta Rosa
​​​​​​​No. 19 Zach Evangelista
No, 21 Marcello Cappuccio​​​​​​​
Coach: Brock Hor

TAPintoSPF.net is Scotch Plains-Fanwood’s only free daily paper. Sign up for our daily eNews and follow us on Facebook and twitter @SPF_TAP. Download the free TAPinto App for iPhone or Android.