SCOTCH PLAINS/FANWOOD, NJ -- Dr. David Heisey, principal of Scotch Plains-Fanwood High School, has announced that eight SPFHS students have been named Commended Students in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program:

  1. Justin R. Greenman
  2. Julia G. Guarneri
  3. Max L, Mazursky
  4. Caroline O. McNichol
  5. Sydney Mills
  6. Deblina Mukherhjee
  7. Lucas Stein
  8. Isaac Velasquez 

Commended Students are recognized for the exceptional academic promise demonstrated by their outstanding performance on the qualifying test used for program entry. is Scotch Plains-Fanwood’s only free daily paper. Sign up for our daily eNews and follow us on Facebook and twitter @SPF_TAP.