NEWARK, NJ -- The North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority’s Board of Trustees approved more than $802,000 in funding for Fanwood's South Avenue Transportation Infrastructure Development Project.

The grant to Fanwood was among the 27 transportation alternative projects that the NJTPA funded totaling $19.46 million. The projects include pedestrian and bicycle facilities, trails, improved access to transit and environmental and historic preservation.

"This is such a significant award for the Borough of Fanwood as it recognizes the efforts we have put in to smart growth, with sound redevelopment planning and transit-oriented development," said Mayor Colleen Mahr, who was thrilled to learn of the grant on Tuesday.

Sign Up for E-News

The Board voted to accept the projects at its July 11 meeting. The projects, already been approved by New Jersey Commissioner of Transportation Richard Hammer, are in 26 municipalities in 10 different counties in the NJTPA region.

The Transportation Alternatives Program is funded by the Federal Highway Administration. The program is administered by the New Jersey Department of Transportation in partnership with the NJTPA and the state’s other two Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs). 

“These are important projects that will improve safety and enhance the quality of life in communities across our region,” said Somerset County Freeholder Peter S. Palmer, Chairman of the NJTPA Board of Trustees.

The NJTPA is the metropolitan planning organization (MPO) for 13 northern New Jersey counties. Under federal legislation, MPOs provide a forum where local officials, public transportation providers and state agency representatives can come together and cooperatively plan to meet the region’s current and future transportation needs. It establishes the region’s eligibility to receive federal tax dollars for transportation projects.
The NJTPA Board consists of one local elected official from each of the 13 counties in the region (Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Union and Warren), and the cities of Newark and Jersey City. The Board also includes a Governor’s Representative, the Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Transportation, the Executive Director of NJ TRANSIT, the Chairman of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, and a Citizen’s Representative appointed by the Governor.