Replacements Named for Exiting Scotch Plains Officials

Deputy Mayor Llewellyn Jones, Mayor Al Smith, Councilman Ted Spera and Councilman John Del Sordi at the Scotch Plains Council meeting on Tuesday. Credits: John Mooney
Scotch Plains Deputy Fire Chief John Lestarchick was honored as the Male Volunteer of the Year at the 2015 Scotch Plains Mayor's Gala by Kevin Glover. Credits: John Mooney
Fanwood DPW Director Clint Dicksen, right, talks with Mayor Colleen Mahr, center, and Garwood Mayor Charles Lombardo. Credits: Brian Horton
Township CFO Lori Majeski (left), Fire Chief Jonathan Ellis (middle) and Township Engineer/DPW Director Joe Timko (right), at a luncheon honoring them last week. Credits: Township of Scotch Plains

SCOTCH PLAINS, NJ — Township Manager Al Mirabella announced at the Scotch Plains Council meeting on Tuesday, June 20, the names of the individuals who will replace retiring Township CFO Lori Majeski, Fire Chief Jonathan Ellis, and Engineer/Director of Public Works Joseph Timko.

Theodore Georgiou will take over as CFO, and Colleen Huehn will be the new tax collector, another role that Lori Majeski filled. Huehn is the tax collector for the Borough of Fanwood.

The Council tabled a resolution that would have hired Lawrence M. Caroselli to provide "transitional CFO support services." Councilman John Del Sordi said that hiring Caroselli would “safeguard your assets and safeguard your town.” Deputy Mayor Llewellyn Jones disagreed and said that the Township did not need to “safeguard our assets from our new CFO.”

Sign Up for E-News

Deputy Fire Chief John Lestarchick will be promoted to chief, and Carmine Grausso will take over the duties as the Township's fire official/inspector. Kenneth Dannevig will be the fire sub-code official. 

Township Manager Mirabella announced a shared services arrangement in which Fanwood Department of Public Works (DPW) Director Clint Dicksen will oversee the Scotch Plains department. (The arrangement also was announced at the Fanwood Borough Council meeting on Monday.) Mirabella also took time to recognized the Township's "strong DPW group,” including Frank DiNizo and Nick DiNizo.

Ronald Piccolo of Mott MacDonald has been named as Timko's replacement as interim assistant engineer. is Scotch Plains-Fanwood’s only free daily paper. Sign up for our daily eNews and follow us on Facebook and twitter @SPF_TAP. Download the free TAPinto App for iPhone or Android.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

Scotch Plains/Fanwood

Driver Escapes Icy Waters After Car Goes Off GSP Near Clark-Cranford Border

March 21, 2018

CLARK, NJ – A car went off the road and into the river on the northbound Garden State Parkway between the Clark and Cranford exits during Wednesday night’s snowstorm.

According to Clark’s Chief of Police Pedro Matos, the car’s driver managed to escape the water. Divers went in to the river and determined the car to be empty. The sole occupant was ...

Staying On Top

Some people are bulldozers. They move mountains, conquer countries, achieve the seemingly impossible. But then when there are no more mountains to climb, they falter. Routines, maintenance and sustainability are not their strong points. They respond to excitement and challenge, not to the uneventful, monotonous daily grind.

The title word of this week's Parshah, Tzav, means ...

The Role of Meal Replacements in Weight Loss

March 20, 2018

Obesity is at epidemic proportions in the United States and in other developed and developing countries. The prevalence of obesity is increasing not only in adults, but also in children and adolescents. We all know that obesity is a significant risk factor for various chronic illnesses, most importantly heart disease and diabetes, but also cancer and osteoarthritis, liver and kidney disease, ...

LinkedIn: It's About Being Found at Scotch Plains Library

March 24, 2018

SCOTCH PLAINS, NJ -- In today's market, a LinkedIn profile is a "must have" for any professional or job seeker as more than 90% of companies use LinkedIn to identify or vet a candidate. But just having a profile isn't enough. On Monday, April 9, at 6:30 p.m., the Scotch Plains Public Library welcomes back Alex Freund, The Landing Expert, for a presentation that will be ...

Upcoming Events

Sat, March 24, 11:00 AM

Home For Good Dog Rescue, Berkeley Heights

Dog Adoption Event



Sun, March 25, 1:00 PM

Westfield Tennis Club, Westfield

Westfield Tennis Club Summer Youth Program Open ...


Sun, March 25, 7:00 PM

Temple Sholom, Scotch Plains

The Displaced Persons Camp Experience

Religions And Spirituality