Community Life

Scenes from Troop 104 Court of Honor in Scotch Plains

Investiture Ceremony Credits: Dave McIntyre
Emcee Dan Holloway Credits: Jon Joshua
New Scouts at Troop 104 Credits: Jon Joshua
Court of Honor Credits: Jon Joshua
Troop 104 Credits: Jon Joshua

SCOTCH PLAINS, NJ -- Boy Scout Troop 104 welcomed its newest members in a New Scout Investiture Ceremony held at the troop's Court of Honor at All Saints Church on Monday, March 20.

The new Boy Scouts are: Matthew Akins, Charles Becker, Jake DeRienzo, Michael Eitmanas, Luke Ellison, Brian Huszcza, Nathan Korner, Eli Krantz, Parth Krishna, Hudson Krupa, Chris Lamendola, Jonathan Linderman, Jack Manara, Ethan Murray, Sebastian Ngu, Jack Nolan, Ryan Pierson, and Noah Rotondo.

Several Scouts achieved new ranks:
Scout: Hasan Ali, Samuel Chichester, Emmett Fynes, Aidan Keough, Robert Principe
Tenderfoot: Ezri Abraham, George Castro, Aidan Keough, Steven Shawkan, Nathan Ward, Eliyah Wong
Second Class: Max Ho, Peeter Reilly
First Class: John Glander, Max Mercurio, Aidan Mooney
Star: Luke Checchio, Jack Eckstein, Conor Reilly

Sign Up for E-News

Scouts also were presented with Merit Badges and several received the Ad Altaree Dei (Catholic Religious Award). is Scotch Plains-Fanwood’s only free daily paper. Sign up for our daily eNews and follow us on Facebook and twitter @SPF_TAP.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

Scotch Plains/Fanwood

Small Fire Extinguished at Addams Tavern in Westfield

June 13, 2018

WESTFIELD, NJ — It likely started with a smoldering cigarette, according to Deputy Fire Chief Anthony Tiller.

The fire that started in a flower planter on an outside deck on the second floor of Addams Tavern Wednesday caused a lot of smoke as it spread to the flooring, but only about a three-foot by three-foot area was damaged, Tiller said.

The restaurant at 115 Elm St. is ...

Is Summer Camp the Right Choice for My Child?

Is your child attending camp this summer? Is it their first experience away?  If yes, it can be an experience causing anxiety for you, for the parent and the child. 

This experience can be frightening to your child if it is their first time and it is so important that they do not see your worry or anxiety about leaving home for the first time… especially if it is sleep ...

What Are The Warning Signs of Suicide

The recent passings of Kate Spade and Anthony Bourdain remind us to take mental illness seriously. 

Many of us feel uncomfortable to ask when someone in distress is suicidal for fear we are putting this thought in their minds. This is not true. It is a myth that asking about suicide increases the risk of suicide. The most common mental illness is depression. Some people are ...


In honor of the Lubavitcher Rebbe's (of righteous memory) 24th  Yahrtzeit (anniversary of his passing) this coming Saturday the 16th.

Excerpts from an address given by Nobel-laureate Elie Wiesel on April 7, 1992, at a congressional dinner held in Washington on the occasion of the Rebbe's 90th birthday.

Some of you are aware of my admiration, not only ...

Watson Coleman Statement on Shooting at Trenton Art All Night

June 17, 2018

Dear Editor:

I am saddened and angered at the violence that took place at Art All Night (in Trenton) early this morning, and I am praying for all of the families involved, but, as I’ve said before, that’s not enough. After every shooting, we talk about motive, mental illness and every other distraction from the real problem — guns.

New Jersey has some of the strongest gun ...

Scotch Plains Library to Host Teen Afternoons in Summer

June 18, 2018

SCOTCH PLAINS, NJ -- In lieu of the Scotch Plains Library’s after school club, the teen department will host weekly summer programs for patrons in grades 5-12. Starting on July 2, teens are invited to hang out, play games, and make crafts every Monday at 3 pm. 

Starting on July 11, the library will offer special programming every other Wednesday at 3 pm. Rock candy, slime, and ...

Upcoming Events

Fri, June 22, 7:30 PM

Crossroads, Garwood

Benefit Concert

Giving Back

Mon, June 25, 9:00 AM

Terrill Road Baptist Chruch, Scotch Plains

LifeWay’s 2018 Vacation Bible School at Terrill ...

Religions And Spirituality