SCOTCH PLAINS, NJ – The four corners is the spot where Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, and Utah all meet at a common boundary.

What many people do not know about Scotch Plains, too, shares a four corner boundary. This boundary separating four different towns is one of only a few in New Jersey. In May of 1963, the municipalities of Scotch Plains, South Plainfield, Plainfield, and Edison came together for a celebration. This May 23rd at 12:00 p.m. the Mayors of the four towns will assemble once again and recreate that photo.

The common boundary is located on Woodland Avenue near Sprague Avenue. It is where north-south and east-west divide four towns and separate Middlesex and Union Counties.

Sign Up for E-News

“This is an opportunity to recreate history,” said Scotch Plains Mayor Al Smith. “It will be great to come together with our neighboring towns of Plainfield, South Plainfield and Edison to celebrate.”

“We hope to have a manhole installed at the location with the seal of the four municipalities etched on it marking the spot for future generations,” said South Plainfield Administrator Glenn Cullen.

Celebrate is a big part of the day’s festivities, as officials from throughout Central New Jersey are expected to descend on the “X Marks the Spot” location. Each of the four municipalities is scheduled to bring a local dish for the lunchtime event.

TAPintoSPF will provide further updates to the “X Marks the Spot” celebration when more details are made available.