SCOTCH PLAINS, NJ – The New Year means new faces in familiar places. The Scotch Plains Planning Board announced a number of membership changes and appointments at its reorganization meeting in the Council of Chambers on Monday, Jan. 12.  

Michael Graziano was named chairman of the board in a unanimous vote. He succeeds Paulette Coronato, who is still serving on the board. Theresa Flood was named as vice chair, and John Thompson was named secretary.

Scotch Plains Mayor Kevin Glover and Councilman John Del Sordi, who replaces former Councilman Bo Vastine, each were appointed to a 1-year term, Mike Smith a 4-year term, and Geri Samuel a 2-year term. Other members of the Planning Board for 2015 are Joseph Doyle, Bob LaCosta, and Richard Polhamus.

Sign Up for E-News

"I'm looking forward to the opportunity to be a part of a talented team in helping ensure a bright future for our town," said Smith.

Neglia Engineering Associates was hired as the town’s engineering firm. The company has more than six decades of experience providing advisory services to local governing bodies, planning and zoning boards, boards of education, and other municipal bodies.

Consulting advice will be provided by Jennifer Beahm, Director of Planning at CME Associates, one of New Jersey’s top engineering firms specializing in civil environmental, geotechnical and structural engineering, surveying, planning and landscape architecture. CME serves over 125 counties, municipalities, authorities and agencies in New Jersey.

The Planning Board also hired the Law Firm of Roth D’Aquanni, which has assigned two experienced attorneys, Evans Anyanwu and Mark DiPisa, to provide legal advice and expertise on land use matters in the public sector.

"I’m pleased with all of our appointments, and as well with all those who will be serving our community as Board members," said Mayor Kevin Glover. "I am confident we have the experience and talent to serve the Township well."

The Planning Board next meets on Mon., Jan. 26 at 7:30 p.m. in the Scotch Plains Council Chamber.  The meeting is open to the public.