Terrill Middle School Students Honored for STEM Competition Achievements at Board of Ed. Meeting

Eighth grade honorees in the 2017 e-Cybermission Challenge. Credits: John Mooney
Seventh grader honorees in the 2017 e-Cybermission Challenge. Credits: John Mooney
Sixth grade honorees in the 2017 e-Cybermission Challenge. Credits: John Mooney
PTA leaders with principals from the SPFK12 District. Credits: John Mooney
A capacity crowd at the most recent BOE meeting Credits: John Mooney

SCOTCH PLAINS-FANWOOD, NJ -- The Scotch Plains-Fanwood Board of Ed. recognized 22 students from Terrill Middle School, who participated in the 2017 e-Cybermission Challenge, a web-based science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) competition on the New Jersey State level earlier this month. The initiative, which sought real solutions to community issues, was presented by the Army Educational Outreach Program (AEOP) and administered by the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA).

A team of four (4) eighth grade students placed 1st in the regional challenge and each received a $1,000 U.S. Series EE Savings Bond at maturity. The four-person squad included:

  • Jack Manville
  • Rebecca Hernandez
  • Kaleigh Einhorn
  • Samuel Oross

The following eight grade students were recognized as Honorable Mention winners for New Jersey State:

Sign Up for E-News

  • Matthew Dembiec
  • Jake Bensulock
  • Zachary Jachera
  • Leo Shear

Suprit Dharmi was the teacher for both eighth grade teams.

Placing first on the regional level, a team of four (4) seventh grade students each received $1,000 U.S. Series EE Savings Bonds at maturity. The winning team was comprised of:

  • Michael Banic
  • Ryan Beauregard
  • Nicholas Evangelista
  • Albert Ndiaye

Meanwhile, a team of three students finished in second place for the regionals and each received a $500 U.S. Series EE Savings Bond at maturity. The team included:

  • Alexander Xu
  • Olivia Linderman
  • Marin Brace

Both of the seventh grade teams were led by Serafina Scalfaro.

A team of four sixth grade Terrill Middle School students finished second place. The team, led by sixth grade teacher Donna Gomez, included:

  • Dylan Fei
  • Kathryn Germinder
  • Andrew Wolff
  • Joseph Catalano

For placing in second, the students, who were recognized by the Scotch Plains-Fanwood Board of Education for their achievements at last Thursday’s meeting, each received a $500 U.S. Series EE Savings Bond at maturity.

Also recognized at the meeting was the competition’s Honorable Mention winners, a sixth grade team led by Stephanie Barker, a sixth grade teacher and included the following students:

  • Chelsey Tang
  • Jion Shim
  • David Feliu 

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

Scotch Plains/Fanwood

Sex Toys, Gay Jokes, Nepotism, Frat-Boy Pranks; Mountainside P.D. Out of Control Says Lawsuit

May 19, 2018

MOUNTAINSIDE, NJ – In a 46-page complaint packed with allegations of harassment involving sex toys, official misconduct, nepotism, hazing, double-dipping and other egregious behavior, five Mountainside police officers and a female employee are suing the borough in state Superior Court.

The complaint, filed by officers Jeffrey Stinner, Christopher Feighner, Richard Latargia, Thomas ...

Penguin Exhibit Opens at Turtle Back Zoo

May 8, 2018

WEST ORANGE, NJ — African penguins have officially joined the giraffes, lions and hyenas in the African Adventure at the Turtle Back Zoo, bringing all of the zoo’s animals from the largest continent into the same area.

Local dignitaries joined Essex County Executive Joseph DiVincenzo, Jr. in opening the new Shores of Africa Penguin Exhibit on Friday afternoon.

"Our penguins ...

Capitalist or Communist?

Karl Marx may have been the pioneer, but many other Jews were also involved in the struggle for communism, particularly in the early days of the Russian revolution. Personally, I don’t think that we have any apologies to make for this phenomenon. Having suffered unbearably under successive oppressive regimes, many of those political activists genuinely thought communism would be better ...

The Facts About Vaping

May 13, 2018

Dear Editor:

The recent public discussion about vaping and “Juuling” that occurred at our high school really opened the eyes of a lot of parents who may have been clueless about what their kids are doing to themselves. There is a lot of conflicting and confusing information available online, on YouTube and social media about the so-called benefits of vaping vs. smoking ...

Ask Maria: When Should We Step in to Rescue Our Children?

May 8, 2018

Dear Maria: 

My husband and I have been very child-focused most of our lives. We have always put our children first. Many times we have stepped in and rescued and we think it's starting to cause issues. Do you think this parenting style is damaging and what are the consequences of our behavior as they mature? How do we stop it?

Thanks so much!


As parents, we all have ...

UC's Performing Arts Company Earns Prestigious Foxy Award

May 20, 2018

MONTCLAIR, NJ -- Union Catholic's Performing Arts Company received a great honor when it was chosen for the Outstanding Achievement in Choreography or Movement for its Fall Play, Peter and the Starcatcher, at Montclair State University's Theater Awards last Monday.

Ms. Jeanette Rudnicki, a 2009 graduate of Union Catholic, was the choreographer. UC senior Angeline Carlo, who lives in ...