SCOTCH PLAINS-FANWOOD, NJ – Faithful fans packed the gym at Scotch Plains-Fanwood High School once again, but the Raiders fell short to the West Morris Wolfpack in the second round of the NJSIAA Team Tournament.

It was certainly a close one, where every match became a critical choice for both teams’ coaches regarding who to send out on the mat. The Raiders started with a hefty 12-point lead due to consecutive forfeits from the Wolfpack.

West Morris quickly erased the deficit, picking up four wins one after another. Jashmar Philippe (126 lbs.) of Scotch Plains did not plan on letting the Wolfpack run away with the match, earning a second period pin over Marco Gaita. 

Sign Up for E-News

Brian Lapham (145 lbs.) returned to action Wednesday, after receiving forfeits from both Governor Livingston and Westfield. The senior was back to his old ways, pinning Christian Trimarchi in the second period and energizing the home crowd.

In the penultimate matchup, George Ramos (170 lbs.) put the Raiders ahead 34-32 with a powerful pin over Michael Brown in just 1 minute 52 seconds.

Early in the night’s final bout, Jaylen Bryant (182 lbs.) took a bump to the head off the mat, and was unable to overpower West Morris’ Kevin Sears afterward.

West Morris (16-3) moves on to face a tough Phillipsburg (16-1) team on Friday. As for the Raiders, the next step is the first round of NJSIAA’s District Tournament in which they will return to Westfield on Feb. 20 and 21.

“Nothing changes.  We just need to keep working hard,” said Brian Lapham.  “We just have to make sure all of our guys are ready to wrestle for three periods.”

Team result: West Morris 36, Scotch Plains-Fanwood 34

  • 195: Frank DiNizo (SPF) won by Forfeit
  • 220: Alex Mirabella (SPF) won by Forfeit
  • 285: Taylor Parkinson-Gee (WM) over Karl Williams (SPF) - Major dec. 8-0
  • 106: Shane Metzler (WM) over Jacob Perone (SPF) – Pin 3:20
  • 113: Kade Loughney (WM) over Nadim Korkmaz (SPF) – TF 17-3
  • 120: Dylan Luciano (WM) over Jack Cannon (SPF) – Major dec. 16-3
  • 126: Jashmar Philippe (SPF) over Marco Gaita (WM) – Pin 2:57
  • 132: Mike Oros (WM) over Tommy Cunningham (SPF) – Dec. 9-4
  • 138: JT Beirne (SPF) over Matt Liberato (WM) – Major dec. 19-7
  • 145: Brian Lapham (SPF) over Christian Trimarchi (WM) – Pin 2:59
  • 152: David Migliaccio (WM) over Jeff Leiblich (SPF) – Pin 4:56
  • 160: Caleb Isemann (WM) over Brandon Miguelino (SPF) – Major dec. 13-3
  • 170: George Ramos (SPF) over Michael Brown (WM) – Pin 1:52
  • 182: Kevin Sears (WM) over Jaylen Bryant (SPF) – Major dec. 12-3