FANWOOD, NJ -- Democrat Colleen Mahr, who has served four terms as Mayor of Fanwood, will run unopposed by a Republican candidate as she seeks an unprecedented fifth election victory. The mayor filed her petition to run again with Union County Clerk Joann Rajoppi's office by the April 1 deadline.

Mayor Mahr's fourth term has been eventful. Last year, she ran a vigorous campaign against State Senator Nick Scutari for control of the Union County Democratic Committee following the death of Jerry Green, who served as Chair (with Mahr as Vice Chair). The contest opened wounds that still have not healed within the party. Later in the year, she was selected as the President of the NJ League of Municipalities.

Related: Jerry Green Dies at Age 79

Sign Up for E-News

RelatedNick Scutari Wins Union County Democratic Committee Vote

RelatedFanwood Mayor Colleen Mahr Sworn in as President of the NJ League of Municipalities

Katherine Mitchell, the longest serving Council member in Fanwood history, and Jeff Banks, who must run for reelection after taking over the unexpired term of Russ Huegel on January 1, also filed petitions to run again for their seats on the governing body.

On the Republicans side, Brian Walter, who ran for a Fanwood Council seat in each of the past two years, will try again in 2019. Jay Morris joins him on the ticket.

Scotch Plains will not be holding a municipal election in 2019. Mayor Al Smith and Councilman Ted Spera's terms expire in 2020. 

Incumbents Bette Jane Kowalski (Cranford), Sergio Granados (Elizabeth) and Rebecca Williams (Plainfield), are seeking reelection as Union County Freeholders under the column of "Regular Democratic Organization of Union County." Former Fanwood Councilman Jack Molenaar is challenging the incumbents and running under "People First Democrats." Other candidates for positions on the Freeholder Board are Wilma Campbell (Plainfield), Alex Lospinoso (Linden) and Sylvia Turnage (Roselle), who are running as "Democrats United For Progress"; Lorraine McNeil (Roselle), Anthony Esposito (Roselle), and Peter Kowal (Rahway).

The Republicans are putting up two candidates for Freeholder seats: Peter Kane (Summit) and Glenn Gelband (Mountainside).

NJ General Assembly members James Kennedy (Rahway) and Linda Carter (Plainfield) are seeking reelection in the 22nd Legislative District. Carter, who took over Jerry Green's unexpired term following the death of Jerry Green, will try to win her first full term. is Scotch Plains-Fanwood’s only free daily paper. Sign up for our daily eNews and follow us on Facebook and twitter @SPF_TAP. Download the free TAPinto App for iPhone or Android.