TRENTON, NJ – Gov. Phil Murphy today announced the lifting of New Jersey’s travel advisory, which outlined quarantine and testing recommendations for residents and visitors to the state following interstate travel. Effective immediately, the travel advisory is no longer in place for both vaccinated and unvaccinated individuals.

“With COVID-19 cases drastically declining in New Jersey and across the country, it is no longer necessary to ask New Jersey residents and travelers to quarantine upon arrival to our state,” said Murphy. “This is an important step that has only been made possible with our successful COVID-19 vaccination program and the collective efforts of New Jersey residents to contain this pandemic.”

“New Jersey and the nation as a whole are moving in the right direction,” saidHealth Commissioner Judith Persichilli. “Increasing vaccination rates and decreasing case rates make it safer for us to travel.”

Sign Up for Scotch Plains/Fanwood Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Residents and travelers are encouraged to follow the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) protocols regarding quarantine and testing following domestic travel.  Travelers should remain up to date regarding local travel recommendations and requirements applicable to their destination. International travel is still governed by the CDC’s protocols and guidance.

The CDC requires that all air passengers entering the U.S. from a foreign country to provide proof of a negative test for COVID-19 or of recovery from COVID-19. Travelers are required to get tested no more than three days before their flight to the U.S. departs and show their negative result to the airline before boarding or be prepared to show documentation of recovery (proof or a recent positive viral test and a letter from a healthcare provider or public health official stating that they were cleared to travel). For more information, visit the CDC website.

In addition, with specific exceptions, foreign nationals who have been in any of the following countries during the past 14 days may NOT enter the United States: China, Iran, countries in the European Schengen Area 26 countries that have officially abolished all passport and all other types of border control at their borders, UK, Republic of Ireland, Brazil, and South Africa. For more details and a full list of exceptions, click this CDC travel guidance page.

International travelers should also refer to guidance published by the CDC and check the CDC's COVID-19 travel recommendations by destination. Many countries are categorized as a Level-4 high COVID-19 risk, and the CDC recommends avoiding all travel to these countries. Visit the CDC for information on testing and international travel.