TRENTON, NJ -- Gov. Phil Murphy has updated the list of states and territories from which individuals traveling to New Jersey should  quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of last contact within the identified state or territory.

Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, Maryland, and Montana removed from the list, bringing the total to 31 states and territories.  Guam has been added. The travel advisory applies to any person arriving from a state or territory with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

As of Tuesday, August 25, the following places meet the criteria above: Alabama; Arkansas; California; Florida; Georgia; Guam; Hawaii; Iowa; Idaho; Indiana; Illinois; Kansas; Kentucky; Louisiana; Minnesota; Missouri; Mississippi; North Carolina; North Dakota; Nebraska; Nevada; Oklahoma; Puerto Rico; South Carolina; South Dakota; Tennessee; Texas; Utah; Virginia; Virgin Islands; and Wisconsin.

Sign Up for Scotch Plains/Fanwood Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

"As we continue to confront the challenge that this crisis poses, we must ensure we remain vigilant and practice personal responsibility to protect our steady progress," said Governor Murphy. "It is critically important for anyone arriving to New Jersey from these 31 states and territories to get tested for COVID-19 and self-quarantine for 14 days."

Travelers and those residents who are returning from impacted states should self-quarantine at their home, hotel, or other temporary lodging. Individuals should leave the place of self-quarantine only to seek medical care/treatment or to obtain food and other essential items. It is expected that individuals will follow the public health advisory to self-quarantine.

The list of states will be updated on a rolling basis and is accessible here.