SCOTCH PLAINS/FANWOOD, NJ -- The Scotch Plains-Fanwood PAL 12U Cobras softball team captured the D2 Parkway 12U American Division championship with a 13-11 win over Elmora on Thursday evening in Cranford.  Scotch Plains-Fanwood was the No. 8 seed entering the tournament. 

The Cobras dominated their side of the playoff bracket which required them to defeat No. 9 seed Chatham (by a score of 14-4), top-seeded North Edison (by a score of 7-6) and No. 4 seed Clark 4-3 in route to the final victory over No. 2 seeded Elmora.

During the course of the tournament, Sairah Llano commanded the mound appearing in 20 innings and fanning 29 batters. SPF witnessed solid defensive action throughout the playoffs from third baseman Olivia Gist, shortstop Julia Friedrichs, second baseman Carolina Conklin, and catcher Sam Friscia, whose heads up play behind the play kept opposing baserunners off balance. Key deliveries both offensively, as well as defensively, from the likes of speedy Mia Savare, Angelina Valente, and Ella Butters helped propel the Cobras to the Championship game.

Sign Up for E-News

In the final matchup, Olivia DiSalvo went 5 innings recording 7 Ks for the Cobras. DiSalvo produced 5 hits and 3 RBI over the last two games for the Cobras in addition to a stellar pitching effort. The final game was neck-in-neck through the first 2 innings until an infield single by Morgan Barbossa in the third kicked off an 8 run rally witnessing solid offensive production up and down the Cobras lineup. 

Gist registered 6 hits over the last two games with a key defensive stop at third base to end an Elmora rally in 5th. Meredith Reilly pitched the Cobras out of a 6th inning jam as Elmora slowly battled back, chipping away throughout the game at the 10-run SPF lead. Elmora would eventually bring the game to within 2 going into the bottom of the seventh. SPF again called on Llano to close out the final frame of the game. Elmora quickly put a runner on base which advanced to second on a fielder’s choice, bringing the tying run to the plate. With two outs, SPF’s Hannah Baik tracked down a long fly ball to centerfield to record the final out for the Cobras.

Head Coach Jess Hulnick was elated with her Cobras performance and had maintained that the No. 8 seed assigned to the team was not indicative of the solid Cobras performance witnessed throughout regular season play.

While the 12U championship was the highlight on a successful SPF PAL summer softball campaign, the 10U and 8U Cobras also took their championship bids deep into the playoffs. 


SPF’s 10U Cobras kicked off their playoff tournament bid as the No. 12 seed facing off against No. 5 seed Cranford. Emily Roof pitched a one hit gem, holding Cranford scoreless and fanning 16 batters as SPF closed out the win 5-0. The Cobras generated 5 runs on 6 hits behind offensive performances from Roof (2 hits including a triple), Kaitlyn Massa (triple, 1 RBI) and a hit and a run scored from each of Harper Shimko (1 RBI), Sarina Llano, Abigail Richardson and Madeline Sobolewski.  

The quarterfinal matchup pitted SPF against No. 4 seed Clark which once again saw Roof dominating on the mound for the Cobras. The Cobra bats were alive and well as the team registered 12 hits up and down the line up. Roof went another 6 solid innings, giving up 2 hits and striking out 13. Roof and Massa continued to produce at the plate each registering 3 hits, with Roof having 4 RBI. Offensive production from Sobolewski, Richardson, Madison Bogart and Teresa Jackson combined with hits from Ava Heuck, Normandie Beversluis, and Peyton Smith helped solidify the 14-2 Cobras win.

SPF entered the semi-final match up Thursday evening against top seeded Maplewood-South Orange, a game which saw the lead change hands twice and then remain tied going into the bottom of the fifth.  A pitching combination of Roof and Richardson kept MSO off balance, but was unfortunately not enough to continue the 10U Cinderella season as SPF ultimately fell 7-2 to MSO, the eventual league champion.   


SPF had a great turnout for 8U softball this summer season and was able to field two separate teams to compete in the D2 Parkway League. Both teams made it to the playoffs and performed well. The 8U Blue Cobras, coming off 2 second place finishes in local summer tournaments, entered the playoffs as the No. 4 seed. 

SPF squared off in a quarterfinal matchup against No. 5 seed Watchung Hills, whereby the Cobra bats delivered for 20+ hits in a 14-9 victory. Roxanne Marcolina, Sofia Cennamo, Gianna Ribaudo, and Lena Orsini all registered 3 hits on the day. The win propelled the 8U ladies into the semi-final game versus top seeded South Plainfield - a game which remained scoreless going into the third when SPF took a one run lead on a double by Cennamo, scoring Mackenzie Bogart. South Plainfield answered back scoring 3 in the bottom half of the inning.  Solid defensive plays from Bogart, Morgan Webster (2 hits), Ribaudo and Caitlin Jackson were unfortunately not enough to overcome the South Plainfield bats which eventually triumphed in a 7-1 win. South Plainfield would go on to win the 8U title later than evening.

The SPF Cobras will continue play in the Fall Season of the D2 Parkway League. For inquiries on SPF softball or to seek information on future try outs, contact Jess Hulnick at

Rosters for each Cobras team are noted below.


Head Coach: Jess Hulnick


Head Coach: Laurie Roof / Phil Shimko

Hannah Baik

Normandie Beversluis

Morgan Barbossa

Madison Bogart

Ella Butters

Natalie DiFabrizio

Carolina Conklin

Ava Heuck

Olivia DiSalvo

Teresa Jackson

Julia Friedrichs

Isabella Licata

Samantha Friscia

Sarina Llano

Olivia Gist

Kaitlyn Massa

Sairah Llano

Samantha Marcolina

Meredith Reilly

Abigail Richardson

Mia Savare

Emily Roof

Angelina Valente

Harper Shimko


Peyton Smith


Madeline Sobolewski


8U Blue

Head Coach: Laurie Bogart

8U White

Head Coach: Gregg Greten

Sophia Barragato

Fiona Ashe

Mackenzie Bogart

Mary Brennan

Sofia Cennamo

Adelle Calloway

Jessica Falk

Ella Cennamo

Caitlin Jackson

Isabella Crosby

Kathleen Lepkowski

Ava Greten

Roxanne Marcolina

Kate Hansen

Lena Orsini

Alexa Pugliese

Gianna Ribaudo

Alyssa Schimming

Sarah Silver

Charlotte Scordato

Jamie Todaro

Nina Vanterpool

Morgan Webster

Danielle Weil


Katie Wilbur