MILLBURN, NJ - The Columbia High School Performing Arts Department spring production of "How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying" has received twelve Paper Mill Playhouse Rising Star Award nominations, and two Honorable Mentions.

Columbia High School was among the top nominated high schools with 12 nominations; Summit High School has 14 nominations, and Eastern Regional High School and Union High School each have 10 nominations

Nominations for Columbia's production of "How to Succeed" were for:

Sign Up for E-News

Outstanding Overall Production of a Musical

Outstanding Performance by a Chorus

The Educational Impact Award

Hunter Kovacs as “J. Pierrepont Finch” Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

India Anderson as “Miss Jones” - Outstanding Performance by a Actor in a Featured Ensemble Member

'The Secretaries' - Outstanding Performance by a Featured Ensemble Group

Bethany Pettigrew and Tricia Benn - Outstanding Achievement by a Teacher or Outside Director

Bethany Pettigrew and Tricia Benn - Outstanding Achievement in Choreography and Staging

Jamie Bunce and Peter F. Bauer - Outstanding Achievement in Music Direction

Marc Matalon - Outstanding Scenic Achievement

Tara Marie Abbondante - Outstanding Lighting Achievement

Suzanne Roghanchi - Outstanding Hair and Make-up Achievement

Honorable Mentions

Josh Ewing as “Bud Frump” - Outstanding Performance in a Featured Role

Barbara Canace, Carol Rutledge, Suzanne Roghanchi, and Kathy Nye - Outstanding Costuming Achievement

The Paper Mill Playhouse "Rising Star Awards" were created in 1996 to encourage and reward exceptional accomplishments in the production of high school musical theatre. Presented by the Investors Foundation, the "Rising Star Awards" is a statewide competition of New Jersey high school musicals modeled after Broadway's Tony Awards. 

In 2015, Columbia High School had fourteen Rising Star nominations for "Ragtime: School Edition," and in 2016, Columbia received ten Rising Star nominations and four Honorable Mentions for their production of Disney's "Beauty and the Beast."

The Awards Ceremony will be held at the Paper Mill Playhouse Tuesday, June 6, at 7:30 p.m.