BERNARDSVILLE NJ - On Tuesday, the Bernardsville Republican Municipal Committee has nominated three candidates to fill the unexpired term created by the resignation of former Councilman Mike dePoortere.

Those three names were selected from a group of four individuals who screened before the committee.

The names that were forwarded are Lloyd Sems of Mendham Rd., John Donahue of South St. and A.Q. Orza II of Old Fort Rd.  Orza also serves as Bernardsville Republican chair. 

Sign Up for E-News

Lloyd told bystanders after the results of the screening were announced that, “I will shortly be reaching out to the residents to get young, passionate Republicans involved again.  We need people with integrity that don’t back away from battles. We need people who can spend the time researching issues to make the right decisions based on facts and not personality conflicts.  We need residents that would like to be part of the solution. Anyone of them should reach out to me or any of the nominated candidates.”

Donahue added “We have the opportunity to support many of our residents that are making positive contributions to our town. Revitalizing our downtown and improving our amenities for a better quality of life are two examples of the opportunities that exist”.  

"Over the last few years I’ve volunteered my time to various groups working for a better Bernardsville," Donahue continued.  "Our borough has enormous potential to be one of the most sought after communities in the area. We can make this happen.”

Orza saud, ”Lloyd, John and I have a vision of what the borough’s needs are now and in the future.  We need to get our municipal taxes under control and eliminate wasteful spending wherever it exists. Our top priorities continue to be the upgrading of our infrastructure and finally enforcing the rental housing laws and ordinances. The housing problems are real and can no longer be ignored. “ 

The names of the three nominees will be presented to the Borough Clerk.   The Borough Council will have fifteen days to choose one of the three candidates to fill the unexpired term.