BEDMINSTER, NJ — According to the unofficial election results provided by the Somerset County Clerk’s Office, Douglas Stevinson will keep his seat and Gina Lisa-Fernandez has been selected to serve on the Bedminster Township Committee.
The unofficial results determined that Republicans Stevinson (1,250 votes) and Fernandez (1,215) pulled ahead of Democrats Zaheer Jan (848 votes) and Jeffrey Beyer (863) with a combined 59 percent of the 4,179 votes cast.

In Bedminster, the five-member Township Committee is elected by the voters to serve three-year terms of office on a staggered basis, with two seats coming up for election in 2019.

Sign Up for Somerset Hills Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Though current mayor Lawrence Jacobs' term on the Township Committee runs through 2021, his mayoral term is up at the end of this calendar year. At an annual reorganization meeting held during the first week of January, the Township Committee selects one of its members to serve as mayor.

The Republican platform espoused by Stevinson and Fernandez can be found here.

The results of this election are not considered official until they are certified by the state.