Editor's Note: Polls close at 8.p.m. Updates will be posted with vote totals as they become available.

SOMERVILLE, NJ - All four candidates for Borough Council, 2 Democrats and 2 Republicans, are running unopposed in today’s New Jersey Primary elections.

Incumbents  Jason Kraska, a Republican and Dennis Sullivan, a Democrat, will seek reelection to three-year terms in November. They are joined on the Primary ballot by Republican Frederick Picchiello, who ran unsuccessfully for Borough Council last year, and Democrat Frederick Wied.

Sign Up for E-News

Polls are open until 8 p.m.

Today’s vote will determine which candidates will run against one another in the Nov. 7 General Election.

Two other members of the Somerville Borough Council, longtime Mayor Brian Gallagher, a Republican, and Borough Council Steve Peter, a Democrat are running for higher offices.

Gallagher is running for County Freeholder along with incumbent Brian Levine, former mayor of Franklin Township.

Peter is running as the Democrat candidate for County Clerk against Republican incumbent Brett Radi.

Republican and Democratic voters will also select their candidates for Governor, state Senate and state Assembly.

Hillsborough resident and state Assemblyman Jack Ciattarelli, R-16th, is seeking the GOP Gubernatorial nomination and is running against Lt. Gov. Kim Guadagno, who has served under Gov. Chris Christie for the past 7 ½ years.

 Other Republican candidates include Steven Rogers, Nutley commissioner of Public Affairs; Joseph Rudy Rullo, a businessman who ran for US Senate in 2012 and Hirsch Singh, an engineer and businessman.

Democratic candidates for the party’s Gubernatorial nomination include Bill Brennan, activist and former firefighter; Jim Johnson, former U.S. Under Secretary of the Treasury for Enforcement[; Raymond Lesniak, state Senator and former chairman of the New Jersey Democratic State Committee; Phil Murphy, former United States Ambassador to Germany and former Goldman Sachs executive; John Wisniewski, state Assemblyman and former chairman of the New Jersey Democratic State Committee and Mark Zinna, Tenafly Borough Council president.

Longtime Republican state Sen. Christopher “Kip” Bateman is running unopposed in the GOP Primary, as is Democratic candidate Laurie Poppe, a Hillsborough resident.

Running unopposed in the 16th Assembly Primary is Democrat incumbent Andrew Zwicker, who will be joined by Roy Freiman. Republicans running unopposed are Donna Simon, a former member of the Assembly who was defeated by Zwicker two years ago and Mark Caligure, a Somerset County Freeholder, who has taken the place of Ciattarelli, who will not run for reelection.

The 16th Senate and Assembly District includes the Hunterdon County municipalities of Delaware Township,Flemington Borough, Raritan Township, Readington Township and Stockton Borough;Princeton in Mercer County and South Brunswick in Middlesex County and the Somerset County municipalities of Branchburg Township, Hillsborough Township, Manville Borough, Millstone Borough, Montgomery Township, Rocky Hill Borough and Somerville.

Statewide, today’s Assembly election features 17 contested primaries, including 11 Democratic races and six Republican races. Heading into the general election, Democrats hold a 52-28 majority. Republicans would need to flip 13 seats in order to take control of the chamber in November.

The statewide Senate races feature eight contested primaries: three Democratic races and five Republican races. Four incumbents are facing challengers in the 2017 primary elections: two Democrats and two Republicans. Heading into the general election, Democrats hold a 24-16 majority. Republicans would need to flip five districts in order to take control of the chamber in November.

There are 156,019 registered voters in Somerset County; 31.4 percent are registerd Democrats, 24.6 percent are registered Republicans and 43.7 percent are unaffiliated.