SOMERVILLE, NJ - Polls will be open from 6 a.m.-8 p.m. on Tuesday, June 4th for residents to cast their ballots in New Jersey’s 2019 Primary Election.

Locally, the Republican and Democratic slates have been endorsed by the local political parties and are running unopposed for mayor and three borough council seats in Somerville.

All 4 Democratic candidates are incumbents: Borough Democrats are backing Mayor Dennis Sullivan, Councilwoman Jane Kobuta, Council President Granville Brady and Councilman Roger Vroom, appointed late last year to fill the vacancy created when Sullivan was elected mayor in November, defeating interim Republican Mayor Ellen Brain.

Sign Up for E-News

The Republicans have nominated Phil Decker for mayor; Hank Werner, a retired police officer who ran for a Borough Council seat last year; Fred Picchielo, who ran unsuccessfully for council in 2016, and newcomer Mario Haddad.

The primary battle for the Democrats’ nominee for Somerset County Sheriff features Darren Russo, a retired Franklin Township police lieutenant who ran unsuccessfully against retiring Sheriff Frank Provenzano three years ago, losing narrowly by 600 votes. He will be opposed by Somerville resident Art Atkins, a former police officer in Bridgewater.

Provenzano has endorsed North Plainfield Police Chief Bill Parenti as his replacement; Parenti has the backing of the Somerset County GOP. Opposing Parenti is Tim Pino, a former captain in the Somerset County Sheriff’s office K9 unit who has been endorsed by members of the Somerset County Sheriff’s police union.

Republican Pat Walsh, deputy director of the Somerset County Freeholders is being challenged by Robert Quinn of Franklin, who ran for Assembly in the 17th District in 2017. The 17th District includes Franklin Township and several Middlesex County towns.

The winner of the GOP Primary will be running against Democrat Melonie Marano, a former Green Brook mayor, who along with Russo, have been endorsed by the Somerset County Democratic Committee.

Walsh and Marano faced off in the 2007 Freeholder race, won by Walsh.

Running unopposed for reelection in the 16th Assembly District are Democrat incumbents Andrew Zwicker and Roy Freiman.

The GOP candidates for 16th District Assembly are running unopposed in the Primary - former Montgomery mayor and Somerset County Freeholder Mark Caliguire, who ran unsuccessfully against Freiman for Assembly two years ago, and former Montgomery mayor Christine Madrid.

Mail-in ballots can be returned in person until the polls close at 8 p.m. on election night. Ballots that are postmarked by Election Day and received by the Election Board within 48 hours after the polls close also will be accepted, according to Somerset County Clerk Steve Peter. The Somerset County Board of Elections is located in the lobby of the Somerset County Administration Building, 20 Grove St., Somerville.

For more information, contact Peter at (908) 231-7013 or online at

Polling Places by District in Somerville:

1 - Senior Citizens High Rise, 1 Mountain Ave.

 2 - West End Hose Company, 135 West High St.

3 - Somerville High School, 222 Davenport St., ( use West. Orchard Street entrance).

 4  Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, 300 Union Ave.

 5 - Engine Company No. 1, 170 East Main St.

 6 - Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, 300 Union Ave.

 7  Vanderveer School, 51 Union Ave.

 8  Lincoln Hose Company, 34 Warren St.

9 - Vanderveer School, 51 Union Ave.