SPOTSWOD, NJ - The countdown clock is up and running at the Spotswood Recreation Department's website for the borough's annual Spotswood 5K on Saturday, September 8. The annual Fun Run gets the family-friendly event started at 8:30 a.m. and the 5K hits the streets at 8:45 a.m. Runners and walkers are welcome for both races.

Participants can run the entire 5K course or walk. Strollers and wheelchairs are allowed, but dogs are not. Walkers and runners with strollers are asked to start toward the back of the start line to let runners head out on the course first.

The cost for the Fun Run is $20 while the fee for the 5K walk/run is $25. Prices for the 5K race increases after August 30 while the cost for the Fun Run increases on August 31.  Registration can be done online at the Spotswood Recreation Department's website. Simply go to the events heading and click on the Spotswood 5K icon. A registration form can also be downloaded at the Spotswood Recreation website and mailed in.

Sign Up for E-News

Registrations done after August 30 for the 5K or after August 31 for the Fun Run will cost $30 for the 5K walk/run and $25 for the Fun Run. Race Day registration will also be $30 for the 5k and $25 for the Fun Run.

Spotswood High School alumnus Justin Dekovics won the last two Spotswood 5Ks. Last fall, the Spotswood High School White Division champion boys cross country team dominated the top overall finishers in the race with members crossing the line in the first nine places. Spotswood High School junior and cross country runner Jessica Addesso was the top female finisher last year. Appleby fifth grader Gavin Romeo has won the one-mile Fun Run for the past two years. Romeo's mom, Marlena was the top master lady finisher in the Spotswood 2017 5K while his dad, Brian, was the third top master male finisher.

All of the proceeds from the annual Spotswood 5K are donated to an athletic team or program at Spotswood High School. Last year's proceeds were split between the Spotswood High School music and drama programs. The recipient for this year's proceeds was not announced at press time.