SOUTH PLAINFIELD, NJ - On April 6, Mayor Matt Anesh and the South Plainfield Borough Council recognized three Holy Savior Academy Basketball Teams for their stellar seasons. In addition to being undefeated in 2015, each of the three teams – 4th Grade Division, 5th and 6th Grade Division and 7th and 8th Grade Division – also won the Catholic Youth Ministry (CYM) Division Championship Game, which took place March 14.

Both the 4th grade division, which is comprised of third and fourth graders, and the 7th and 8th grade division finished the season undefeated (12-0) while the 5th and 6th grade division had an equally impressive record of 11-1.

 “The collaboration of team members and their good sportsmanship are the qualities that helped the team earn their victory and also make the CYM Sports League Basketball Team outstanding members of the community,” stated Anesh. “I congratulate the CYM Sports League of the Dioceses of Metuchen Basketball Team as well as its coaching staff, the parents and the community on the outstanding achievement of becoming the Division Champions.

Sign Up for E-News

Congratulations to the following players:

4th Grade Division: Zoe Brooks, Aidan Carlisle, Rainhart Chioco, Maya Edwards, Aldrin Judson Granflor, Jace Hunter, Mathew Lowe, Anthony Luisi, Jorge Manay, Derick Melvin, Marvin Mont, Zachary Nassy, Adrien Ortega, Gerry Sapia and Nicholas Villavicencio

5th and 6th Grade Division: Elijah Barlow, Eric Callajas, Nick Chadwell, Sam Corry, Trent DeMesa, Tim Figueiredo, Jackson Gaffney, Kevin McGuiness, Nia Melvin, Jacob Muhammaud, Antonio Ortega, Jae Jean Simon, John Ventriglia, Colin Whiteside and Bradley Young

7th and 8th Division: Mark Atkins, Nahshon Battle, Henri Brignol, Jalen Brooks, Matthew Calora, Nick Legrand, Bryce Street and Kelvin Thomas