The Middlesex County School Boards Association hosted their meeting on May 3, 2017, at Pierre's in South Brunswick.  This meeting was the Middlesex County School Board's  Advocacy meeting, nominations for Middlesex County Officer positions and slate presentation by Immediate Past President Cassie Greeley.  The slate for Middlesex County School Board's was Deborah Boyle, South Plainfield - President Middlesex Co., Sharon Miller, South Plainfield - Vice President/Secretary; Elliott Stroul, Jamesburg - Vice President Legislation; Deven Patel, South Brunswick - New Jersey School Boars Alternate Delegate to Board of Directors.  Lucy Bloom from Sayreville is the Delegate to the Board of Directors.  The Slate of Officers passed unanimously.  Debbie Boyle will serve her second term as President.

Honored guests were Assemblywoman Nancy Pinkin, 18th Legislative District and Assemblyman Robert Karabinchak, 18th Legislative District.  Senator Diegnan had a previous event and Congressman Pallone was in Washington DC.  The Assembly representatives spoke about school related bills and issues and urged everyone to reach out to them with their concerns so they can better help School Boards.

Don Webster, New Jersey School Boards Association President, Gwen Thornton, NJSBA Field service Rep, Kevin Ciak newly elected National School Boards President and Christopher Jones, NJSBA Legislative Advocate addressed school board members, superintendents and guests.

Sign Up for E-News

Awards were presented for Milestones beginning with 10 year Pin awards to David Oliver, Middlesex;  Deborah Anes, Edison in Memory of her ten years of  service;  Stephen Parker, South Brunswick.   15 years Pin awards- Frank Weber, Old Bridge.   20 year Pin and Plaque award - Emra Seawood, New Brunswick;  Patricia Sadowski, New Brunswick;  Marvin Braverman, Monroe Township.  New Board Member Certification - Marie Anderson, Woodbridge Township; Chere Glover, South Plainfield.  Certified Board Member Certification - Lucille Bloom, Sayreville and Deven Patel, South Brunswick.  Master Board Member Certification - John Hrevnack, Middlesex and Elliott Stroul, Jamesburg.  Thank you to ELFNJ for hosting the meeting and to Patti Rees for all her expertise in arranging the program and Gwen Thornton, Service Rep NJSBA for her knowledge of School Boards and plaque presentations.

Pictured L to R:  Kevin Ciak, Sayreville Board and National School Board President, Marie Anderson, Woodbridge Township Board, Chere Glover, South Plainfield Board, Debbie Boyle South Plainfield Board and Middlesex County School Board President and Don Webster, Manchester Township Board and New Jersey School Board Association President.  Chere Glover and Marie Anderson received their New Board Member Certification by attending seminars, conferences and School Boards Conventions,  who continue their education to better serve their school districts.  They receive credits which go towards their certifications.