LAWRENCEVILLE, NJ - Sixty-eight rising high school seniors from Middlesex county are attending the 72nd session of American Legion Jersey Boys State (ALJBS) held every year at Rider University. The college credit-qualified conference, sponsored by the American Legion Department of New Jersey, is one of the leading “government-in-action” program in the country. Statesman are typically chosen and sponsored by local American Legion Posts and other community-based organizations. 
“It’s our honor to welcome 953 statesmen to Jersey Boys State,” ALJBS Director David Bagatelle said. “American Legion Jersey Boys State shapes the future for so many young students, each year, who become our political, community, military, and business leaders.”
Statesmen are afforded the opportunity to govern and interact with their peers from across New Jersey as they run their own mythical 51st state from June 18-23. Within 24 hours of their arrival to ALJBS, statesmen will have formed 18 mythical cities and two political parties to elect a mayor and city council to guide their city throughout the week. Each student has an opportunity to participate in the political party process by running for office, participating in friendly debate and voting in elections, among many other events. By the end of the week, the delegation will elect a new ALJBS Governor, Lieutenant Governor and two Boys Nation Senators, who will attend a national program in Washington, D.C. this summer.
Sign Up for E-News

Highlights include:

  • Notable speakers this year include Lt. Gov. and Republican gubernatorial candidate Kim Guadagno, Sens. Bob Menendez and Cory Booker, U.S. Rep Leonard Lance, former Gov. Christie Whitman and ESPN analyst/NBA star Jay Williams
  • Leadership and career seminars taught by business executives, military representatives, political consultants, law experts, journalists, and other professional experts;  
  • A college fair featuring more than 90 institutions from across the country;
  • Election of the 72nd ALJBS Governor on Thursday, June 22; and
  • Election of two Boys Nation Senators on Friday, June 23, who will represent New Jersey at the annual American Legion Boys Nation program in Washington D.C. this summer.

Notable ALJBS alumni include Gov. Chris Christie (Boys Nation Senator, 1979), Sen. Bob Menendez (1971), Sen. Cory Booker (1986), Supreme Court Justice Samuel Alito (1967), Rep. Leonard Lance (1969) and Assemblyman Herbert Conaway (ALJBS Governor, 1980).

2017 Middlesex County Delegation
Rizwaan Adat, Plainsboro, Legion Post #76
Adnan Akbar, Iselin, Legion Post #87
Jay Amin, East Brunswick, Legion Post #25
Ethan Anthony, South River, Legion Post #214
Ritik Bedi, Monroe Township, Legion Post #522
Gerard Brown-Eckstein, Parlin, Legion Post #211
Anthony Buccino, Dunellen, Legion Post #119
Bradley Butler, South Plainfield, Legion Post #243
Sean Carlucci, Edison, Legion Post #65
Advith Chegu, Iselin, Legion Post #471
Arun Chezian, Metuchen, Legion Post #65
Benjamin Daniels, Edison, Legion Post #324
Graham Davies, Plainsboro, Legion Post #401
Thomas Della Sala, Iselin, Legion Post #471
Vevikanand Deonarine, South Plainfield, Legion Post #243
Jimmy Dhillon, Iselin, Legion Post #87
Lucas Espada, East Brunswick, Legion Post #25
Angelo Facciponti-Mennella, Dunellen, Legion Post #119
Nicholas Florczak, East Brunswick, Legion Post #25
Luke Fuller, South Amboy, Legion Post #211
Alejandro Garcia, South Plainfield, Legion Post #243
Dylan Gilligan, Sayreville, Legion Post #211
Alam Grewal, Cranbury, Legion Post #25
Kabir Grewal, Cranbury, Legion Post #25
Brian Harper, South Plainfield, Legion Post #243
Anthony Hein, Colonia, Legion Post #87
Sanket Jain, East Brunswick, Legion Post #66
Rushil Jani, Parlin, Legion Post #211
Caelan Johnson, Metuchen, Legion Post #65
Joseph Kelly, South Plainfield, Legion Post #243
Vivek Krishnam, Monroe, Legion Post #348
Anthony LeSaux, Edison, Legion Post #2000
Ryan Loreski, Plainsboro, Legion Post #76
Alex Ma, Plainsboro, Legion Post #76
Giovanni Magee, Iselin, Legion Post #471
Kanav Mahajan, North Brunswick, Legion Post #25
Eshaan Mahapatra, East Brunswick, Legion Post #25
Pranav Mallampalli, Monroe, Legion Post #12
Scott Maran, Colonia, Legion Post #228
Utkarsh Mashal, Edison, Legion Post #324
Conor McCrimmon, Dunellen, Legion Post #119
Arjun Menon Jayakumar, Edison, Legion Post #324
Nishant Nagalia, Monroe Twp, Legion Post #522
Kushal Negi, Monroe Township, Legion Post #522
Julian Nolasco, Middlesex, Legion Post #306
Darsh Patel, Monroe Twp., Legion Post #458
Vasu Patel, ISELIN, Legion Post #471
Paran Patti, East Brunswick, Legion Post #25
Bernard Pereda, North Brunswick, Legion Post #25
Vladyslav Rachkovskyy, North Brunswick, Legion Post #459
Thomas Rau, Middlesex, Legion Post #306
Sawyer Reis, Colonia, Legion Post #3
Jake Rona, Plainsboro, Legion Post #76
Christopher Russo, Colonia, Legion Post #471
Nikhil Sadaranganey, East Brunswick, Legion Post #25
Sohil Shah, Edison, Legion Post #75
Gursimran Singh, Monroe, Legion Post #5000
Sahil Singh, East Brunswick, Legion Post #25
Patrick Smith, Sayreville, Legion Post #211
Shiv Soin, Edison, Legion Post #324
Mark Stanik, Edison, Legion Post #324
Harshil Trivedi, Sayreville, Legion Post #211
Rithvik Vakacharla, Plainsboro, Legion Post #76
Russell Van Liew, Iselin, Legion Post #87
Arthraj Vyas, Iselin, Legion Post #471
Steven Wolinetz, Plainsboro, Legion Post #76
Nicholas Wong, East Brunswick, Legion Post #25
Goutham Yalla, Plainsboro, Legion Post #76