Sports

South Plainfield 2017 Football Preview

f58e7fc22926358b367e_Charlie_Lovett.JPG
14ddb1fe5dce83e7625f_Zach_DelVecchio.JPG
f58e7fc22926358b367e_Charlie_Lovett.JPG

SOUTH PLAINFIELD -- The South Plainfield High School varsity football team defied expectations a year ago.

The Tigers went 8-4 and made it to the Central Jersey, Group 3 championship game where they fell, 27-22, to Rumson-Fair Haven at Rutgers’ High Point Solutions Stadium.

If South Plainfield wants to make some noise again in 2017, they’ll have to replace 21 seniors, including numerous starters including tight end/defensive lineman Jean Sapini, middle linebacker Dillon Harris, and wide receiver/special teams returner Deshai Smith.

Sign Up for E-News

But most importantly, they’ll have to find a sense of leadership, camaraderie, and a want-to-win attitude. The talent is there.

“I know we have the talent, but have to get these guys motivated. They do that, and the sky’s the limit for them,” Tigers head coach Garry Cassio told TAPinto South Plainfield. “But if they want to play as individuals and go through the motions, then you know, we’re in for a long year.

“Those 21 seniors were great kids and I’m not even talking football players. They played for each other. They were hungry. We went into the year as underdogs. These young kids that we have now, they have to start believing and play as a team. The talent is there, but they have to find a little bit of heart and some fire.”

Last year, rising junior Charles Lovett split time with Ryan Marston at quarterback. With Marston’s (728 passing yards as a senior) high school years complete, Lovett is the full-time signal caller. Lovett began the year as the starter last year, but injured his ankle a few games into the season. He came back and saw time both at wide receiver quarterback on offense.

Lovett finished with 925 all-purpose yards, and improved in the offseason and during preseason camp this summer.

“There’s no better kid than Charlie” Cassio said. “I mean, off the field he’s one the nicest kids you’ll ever meet. He’s a smart kid and well-rounded. He’s a team leader but he’s not a rah-rah type of kid. He’s more lead by example and doing things the right way. He’s always hustling and respectful.

“Last year, (did well) as a starter before he went down with a high ankle sprain against St.Joes (Metuchen). Marston stepped in at quarterback, but with the kind of kid Charlie, when he came back, we moved him to receiver and linebacker and excelled. He’s only getting better. He’s stronger, bigger, faster, and is throwing the ball better. We’re going to rely on him a lot more this year.”

At running back, junior bruiser Zach DelVecchio returns after totaling 1,172 yards and 11 touchdowns on the ground a year ago. South Plainfield has to replace fullback Ben Lundy, but they return pieces of the offensive line including guard Luke Niemeyer. Brandon Heddon will be the main tight end. Hamilton Uzoma and Julian Medina, who Cassio called “a bull” are battling for the fullback spot.

“We’re going to run it until they stop it,” Cassio said with a chuckle. “We got DelVecchio in the backfield. He’s in better shape this year. He’s more mature and has more muscle and he’s faster. He’s becoming a team leader. Half of our offensive line is back. We just have to figure out a couple more spots.”

Pass catching wise, Dondre Tate slides into Smith’s role. The junior will have to get out of his own way though. Teams will stack the box to take away DelVecchio and Lovett when he gets out and runs. It’ll be up to Tate to be a threat through the air.

“Tate is very gifted and athletic,” Cassio said. “We need him to step up on offense. He’s pretty dynamic when he wants to be. He’s had an OK preseason. We got to light a fire under him a little bit, but when he’s on, he’s on. He’s a good wide receiver who will take Deshai’s spot. He’s a great lock-down corner as well.”

When Lovett was out last year, Tate took his spot at cornerback and thrived. Tate finished with 57 tackles.

At linebacker, DelVecchio returns after making 56 stops a year ago. As mentioned, Lovett will stay at the position after racking up 60 tackles in 2016 himself.

Despite the talent in the back seven, Cassio said he believes the strength of the defense is the defensive line.

“I think our d-line,” Cassio responded when asked what area on defense he’s most confident in. “You know, we’re missing Jean Sapini who demanded double teams a year ago all the time. But we got our two defensive ends back in Parth Patel and Luke Nieymeyer. We got three or four guys rotating in at nose guard and 3-technique -- Dishon Hessing, Heddon, freshman Austin Scott, and Marquise Bradley. We got some players.”

The nine defensive starters the Tigers graduated accounted for 518 tackles, 17 sacks and seven interceptions last season. In wins, South Plainfield only gave up one or two touchdowns, but in their losses, they allowed over 30 points per game.

They’ll look to improve on those numbers and be more consistent starting Sept. 8 against Perth Amboy.

Cassio, who is in his sixth season as the head coach, owns a 28-24 record. He is already the third-winningest head coach in school history.

The players that were on the roster a year ago as well as the staff all learned and gained experienced from going to the CJG3 title game last season. And while the ultimate goal is of course to win their first ever sectional championship, Cassio isn’t thinking about that.

He just wants to be 1-0 each week and see improvement from his squad every day.

“Be 1-0 on Sept. 8,” Cassio said. “That’s it, period. Our goal is to get better every day. I don’t look ahead. Hopefully by the end of the year we’ll be peaking.”

 

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

South Plainfield

The Athlete of the Week Samantha Pullen Girls’ Spring Track

The South Plainfield High School Girls’ track team is off to another great start in the 2018 season.  Their record currently stands at 3-0. This past week, the Lady Tigers defeated divisional rivals Metuchen and Middlesex by the scores of 80-56 and 75-56.  They then went on to dominate Bishop Ahr by a score of 112-24.  Much of the Lady Tigers success has been due to the ...

The Athlete of the Week Tatianna Sutor Girls’ Lacrosse

The South Plainfield High School Girls’ Lacrosse team is off to a fantastic start to their 2018 season with a record of 2-0. This past week, the Lady Tigers crushed division rival Bishop Ahr by the score of 14-2, and then went on to beat Boonton 6-3.  A huge part of the success for South Plainfield has been due in a large part to the contributions of senior goalie Tatianna ...

Obituaries

Victor Kochmann, 92, passed away on Wednesday, March 21, 2018 surrounded by his loving family in ...
Read more

Letters to the Editor

Letter Welcoming Mike Zushma to Politics

April 19, 2018

Dear Editor, 

I'd like to welcome Mike Zushma to the world of politics and congratulate him on being selected as the town's Democratic Chairman.

 

I've served as Republican chair since 2009, and I've always enjoyed spending my time helping good people get elected to office.  In South Plainfield, it's never about party:  People work together and try ...

Natalie Stilo Signs with Drew University Golf Team

April 20, 2018

Natalie Stilo, Senior at Bishop George Ahr High School, has signed with Drew University's golf team. Currently, Natalie is on Bishop Ahr's golf team. Golf became her passion after her 10 year career in gymnastics ended. She has been working on her golf game and is excited to have the opportunity to play for Drew. She will attend Drew University in the Fall, majoring in Molecular Biology ...

Community Happenings

South Plainfield High School Hall Of Fame Is Seeking Nominees

April 19, 2018

SOUTH PLAINFIELD, NJ - The South Plainfield High School Hall of Fame Committee is again holding their search for candidates for induction into the SPHS Hall of Fame.  The Hall of Fame was established at South Plainfield High School to recognize outstanding graduates as leaders in their fields who could serve as role models for current and future students.

Candidates will be evaluated on ...

Kennedy School Welcomes Author Lisa Mullarkey

April 19, 2018

SOUTH PLAINFIELD, NJ – Teacher and children’s author Lisa Mullarkey stopped by John F. Kennedy Elementary School on April 18. 

“This year’s guest author was very well received by our students and staff. Mrs. Mullarkey spent the day motivating our students to be future writers," said Kennedy Principal Kevin Hajduk. "It was a privilege for our students at ...

Holy Savior Academy to Hold Open House on April 24

April 18, 2018

SOUTH PLAINFIELD, NJ – Holy Savior Academy, an AdvancedED accredited Middlebrook Deanery Catholic School located in South Plainfield, will hold an open house the evening of Tuesday, April 24.At this time, prospective students and their families in pre-K3 through 8th grade will have the opportunity to tour the school, meet teachers and register. 

“Holy Savior ...

Elks Lodge #2298 Hosted Princess Breakfast

April 19, 2018

The South Plainfield Elks Lodge #2298 Youth Activities Committee recently hosted a Princess breakfast, in conjunction with the South Plainfield Summer Drama Workshop.   On the menu we featured only the BEST breakfast in town.  Our lil princesses were able to come down to have their pictures taken with their favorite Disney characters. 

The South Plainfield Elks Lodge #2298 ...

Part Time Position in Municipal Court

The South Plainfield Borough is seeking to hire a part time person with strong customer service skills to perform detailed Municipal Court clerical work.

Responsibilities include but are not limited to:

Answering telephone and walk in inquiries, data entry, maintaining files and records for accuracy, processing payments, related duties as required.

Successful candidates should process ...

Upcoming Events

Carousel_image_bad097ae8b2fe018094c_mayors_wellness

Sat, April 28, 9:00 AM

South Plainfield

Spring Wellness Health Fair - Mayor's Wellness

Carousel_image_5cb3a344be063f4eef87_hf_2018_updated-page-001

Sat, April 28, 9:00 AM

South Plainfield

South Plainfield's Annual Health and Fitness Fair

Carousel_image_540ba92b7ee7d0a56fba_elvis_tribute_final

Sat, April 28, 7:00 PM

South Plainfield

A Tribute to our Veterans - Jim Barone

Carousel_image_7869a9df10fb5a82bf59_autismawareness18-page-001

Sun, April 29, 2:00 PM

South Plainfield

Autism Awareness Event on April 29th

Carousel_image_655bff643922e36ca526_color_me_flyer_final_cut__3_-page-001

Sat, May 5, 9:00 AM

Sewaren

Color Me Run to End Domestic Violence

Columns

Retro Review: Johnny Got His Gun by Dalton Trumbo

Retro Review: Johnny Got His Gun by Dalton Trumbo (Citadel Press, 1970)

 

How does a reviewer do justice to a book called “the great American novel”? I first read Johnny Got His Gun during the Viet Nam war, when young people, nationwide, were protesting fighting in a war that was a senseless waste of life; a war in which the United States had no business participating.

Bookmarks

Your library is a hub of education and entertainment that is available to you not just when the library is open, but at all hours, thanks to our great online resources.  

If you want to brush up on your computer skills, or learn something new, try Learning Express.  You can access it through the library’s website. Once you’ve registered (you’ll need ...

Press Releases

High School, College Students Sought For County Youth Conservation Corps

April 23, 2018

MIDDLESEX COUNTY, NJ - Middlesex County is looking for high school and college students who want to improve and protect our environment and don’t mind lifting, bending, and getting dirt under their fingernails.

Applications are now being accepted for the Middlesex County Youth Conservation Corps, whose mission is to protect and preserve the more than 8,000 acres of Open Space ...