SOUTH PLAINFIELD, NJ – Spring sport success was highlighted at the South Plainfield Board of Education’s June 13 Committee of the Whole meeting. 

At this time, family and friends gathered as dozens of the high school’s student athletes, along with their coaches and managers, were recognized by the board and district administrators for their accomplishments in baseball, lacrosse, golf, track, and softball during the 2018 spring season. 

Additionally, four students were recognized for earning athletic awards. They include Jennifer Grasso, New Jersey State Interscholastic Athletic Association Scholar Athlete and Greater Middlesex Conference Scholar Athlete; Joseph Heilmann- Greater Middlesex Conference Scholar Athlete; William Keane, Greater Middlesex Conference Sportsmanship Award; and Ria Soni, Greater Middlesex Conference Sportsmanship Award. 

Sign Up for E-News

“All the South Plainfield athletes did a fantastic job this spring season. On the team side, we won two division championships and a conference championship,” Athletic Director Kevin McCann told TAPinto South Plainfield.“Many of our student-athletes excelled in their sport to be named to the All-Division and All-Conference Teams. South Plainfield continues to be one of the best athletic schools in Middlesex County."

Congratulations to the following students, teams, coaches and managers: 


Team: GMC Champions

Connor Adams

Christopher Born

Matthew Cassio

Ashwin deGroot

Brody Donovan

Austin Feltham

Roberto Gonzalez – All White Division

Jordan Hamberg 

Josiah Harvey

Jose Hernandez

Justin Jones

William Keane – All White Division

Michael Marrero

Thomas Massaro

Ryan Massett

Samuel Nieves

Christopher Shine – All White Division/All Conference/Cy Young (Best Pitcher in GMC)

Cooper Smith

Michael Stanczak – All White Division/All Conference

Edwin Niko Vasquez

Alexys Craggan - Manager

Gianna Ruzicka – Manager

Head Coach Anthony Guida - All White Division Coach of the Year/All Conference Coach of the Year

Assistant Coaches Michael Battista, Mark Benak, and Steven Wieczorek

Volunteer Coaches Dan Hansen, Jeffrey Pellegrino, and Vincent Pellegrino. 

Girls Lacrosse 

Lynda Farinella – All Conference

The team is led by Head Coach Tammy Zurka and Assistant Coach Karl Spolarich


David Bickunas – All White Division

Brandon Wizda – All White Division

The team is led by Head Coach Jae Han

Girls Spring Track 

Team: Blue Division Relay Champions and Blue Division Champions

Jacinda Anderson

Brianna Atkinson – All Blue Division

Domonique Bowe

Melissa Calderon

Lauren Calvey

Amanda Cheng

Ming-Wai Cheung

Juliane Ferraro

Jasmine Garwood

Priscilla Gavilanes

McKayla Grabinsky

Kayla Greenleaf – All Blue Division/All Conference

Jordan Lovett

Kaylie Macpherson

Lauryn McMillan

Ellenie Mejias

Alyssa Moffitt

Brianna Padovano

Hailey Palmer – All Blue Division

Tiffany Parajon - All Blue Division

Samantha Pullen – All Blue Division/All Conference

Megan Russo

Emily Samayoa

Ria Soni

Lisette Vega

Stephanie Waters

Sofia Watson – All Blue Division

Anya Wilson

Ashley Wyber

Head Coach Christopher Fish

Assistant Coaches David Rosa and Kelly Gamaro 

Boys Spring Track 

Team: Blue Division Champions

Nicholas Aiello

Chibundu Anyanwu

Paul Baldasarre

Ryan Bali

Trevor Barry

Justin Billich

Jared Campos

Abdul Cokley

Alexander Crews

Warner Cruz

Alejandro Garcia – All Blue Division

Keyon Gardner

Adam Globis

Kevin Hagy

Troy Harzula

Jeff Heine

O’Shaun Hinds – All Blue Division

Dylan Kolvites

Anthony Laudani

Julian Lee

Keith Lehman

Elijah McNeill – All Blue Division

Jorge Mora

John O’Brien

Jalil Palms – All Blue Division/All Conference

Brandon Pascale

Dheer Patel – All Blue Division

Everette Pfeiffer

Robert Rivera

Andre Rivers

Hamilton Uzoma

Head Coach Matthew Connell –All Blue Division Coach of the Year

Assistant Coaches Bryan Holt and Stephen Balzer


Jennifer Grasso – All White Division/All Conference

Jillian Holoboski – All White Division/All Conference

MaKayla Sosa – All White Division/All Conference

Head Coach Don Panzarella – Winningest Softball Coach in New Jersey) (749 victories)

TAPinto South Plainfield is South Plainfield’s only free daily paper. Sign up to get all the news as it happens at follow us on Facebook at on Twitter at@SoplainfieldTAP.