SOUTH PLAINFIELD, NJ –The South Plainfield School District, at a virtual board of education (BOE) Oct. 14, recognized several teachers, administrators, and administrative staff who received tenure during the 2019-2020 school year. 

"These teachers and administrators are the foundation of our school district. Each one is dedicated to success of our children, spending countless hours working far beyond the school day in order to ensure our students are receiving the best possible education," said Superintendent of Schools Dr. Noreen Tansey Lishak. 

Typically, tenure recipients are recognized by their building principals and/or supervisors at an in-person board of education meeting; however, to the current healthcare situation and last week's meeting being held via Zoom, the 2019-2020 recipients were recognized a 'little different.'

Sign Up for South Plainfield Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

"This evening, we have some wonderful teachers and administrators who are joining us on Zoom who we would like to congratulate on earning tenure…" said the superintendent before reading off the recipients' names, positions and tenure dates. 

They include: 

Kaitlyn Brown - math and science teacher at Grant School

Alyssa Eckhardt - BSI teacher at Grant School 

Olivia Eppes - English language arts/social teacher at Grant School

Jamie Giannakis - guidance counselor at South Plainfield High School

Edmund Giroux - athletic trainer at South Plainfield High School

Donna Helgesen - secretary at South Plainfield High School; and

Sue Hyun - special education teacher at Roosevelt School

Anna Kousoulis - math teacher at South Plainfield Middle School

Jenna Laverick - special education teacher at Grant School

Tracy Lawrence - speech therapist at Kennedy School

Jillian Mahon - health/PE teacher at Kennedy School

Megan O’Brien - elementary teacher at Riley School

Elizabeth Schwarz - secretary to supervisor of building and grounds

Marianne Tomore - human resources coordinator

Also receiving tenure during 2019-2020 were several members of the district's administration, including Shanti Kantha-Murray, supervisor of science, art, applied technology & world language; Patrick Sarullo, principal of Grant School; and Mary Malyska, assistant superintendent of curriculum and instruction. 

"Although all who received tenure tonight are very wonderful and talented educators, I work very closely with Ms. Malyska. [She] is a vital part of the success of our school district and is an invaluable asset to our school district and to me personally," said Tansey Lishak, referring to Malyska as her 'right hand' 

"I want to take this time to recognize you professionally as the wonderful administrator that you are as well as personally because you are the perfect partner for me," continued the superintendent, noting that teachers and other administrators commonly refer to them as 'ying and yang' because they 'balance each other out.' "With your support and leadership, we are always able to keep our students at the forefront and the focus of our district. Thank you and congratulations on receiving tenure."

TAPinto South Plainfield is South Plainfield’s only free daily paper. Sign up to get all the news as it happens at and follow us on Facebook at and on Twitter at @SoplainfieldTAP.