SPARTA, NJ -  Only three candidates have submitted nominating petitions for the Township Council election in November and, therefore, will run unopposed on the ballot.

As of Tuesday's deadline at 4 p.m.,Township Clerk Mary Coe reported that the three candidates for the three seats are Gilbert Gibbs, Joshua Hertzberg and Molly Whilesmith.

Gibbs and Whilesmith are incumbents, first elected in 2010.  Whilesmith is the current mayor.  Gibbs served as mayor last year.

Sign Up for E-News

Newcomer to Sparta politics, Hertzberg grew up in Sparta.  He worked for the Department of Justice in Border Patrol, Drug Enforcement Agency then Homeland Security in various positions and locations around the country. He took early retirement from the U.S. Government and went to work for Port Newark as a member of International Longshoremen’s Association for Maher Terminals.  Hertzberg currently manages the office for ILA local 1804-1.

Hertzberg and his wife, Erica, have three boys, Jacob, Jaxon and Callum. Hertzberg points to his family as the reason behind his involvement in the community since 2005. His service to Sparta includes being the current President of the Sparta Spartan Youth Football and Cheer.

“In my careers I have had experience in law enforcement, contracting, project management, contract negotiation, and finance management, all of which I feel will help me as a councilperson for the township of Sparta,” Hertzberg said. “I am very much looking forward to becoming even more active in trying to make Sparta the best it can be.  I think the council currently has a very good team, and I’m looking forward to becoming a part of it.”   

Running uncontested, Gibbs, Hertzberg and Whilesmith will each serve a four-year term. The terms for the remaining council members, Deputy Mayor Jerry Murphy and Councilwoman Christine Quinn, will end in 2016.     

Councilman John Schon chose not to run again.