SPARTA, NJ – The Sparta High School Marching Spartans were recognized for earning their title of 2014 Tournament of Bands Group 3A Atlantic Coast Champions at the Sparta Township Council meeting on Tuesday night.  Nearly all of the band and color guard members were in the council chambers along with their families, to hear Mayor Jerry Murphy read a proclamation congratulating them on their achievement.  Band Director Dr. Deborah Gianuzzi accepted the plaque and commemorative cup from the Mayor to be displayed at Sparta High School.

The proclamation did address “their unwavering support for each other and their desire to do their best for the high school they represent,” which many associated with the program point to as a key to their success.  The proclamation included recognition for the challenging conditions under which they perform; “the cold, wind or rain to show their competitive edge to outperform their competitors.”  Finally there was recognition for dedication to the program; “the Spartans success is shared by their Band Director, Dr. Deborah Gianuzzi who spends countless hours working with the band to achieve the status of excellence.”

The band members are:

Sign Up for E-News

Madeline Abatemarco, Ryan Ailara, David Amiel, Stephen Andrewlavage, Julian Buttitta, Robin Chaney, Hannah Chute, Madison Colaco, Sofia Cook, Blaze Dalio, Emma D’Amico, Hunter Dean, Mathew Dempsey, Kaitlyn Devine, Jack Donahue, Ben Dottinger, Sean Drew, Rohan Drummond, Soumya Duggirala, Morgan Grove, Ellie Hartranft, Alex Hofgesang, Tyler Holden, Alex Hopper, Kaity Jacobs, Michael King, Raphael Krause, Chris Link, Matthew Link, Julia Lopez, Mya Lynch, Kira Manniello, Kelly Manniello, Harry Margalotti, Alison Middleton, Carrie Middleton, Justin Mohamed, Claire Mundi, Kristin Petrucci, Eric Philippou, Victoria Prol, Kyle Pulido, Will Purnell, Sarah Ramos, Brittany Rivera, Julian Rodriguez, Raymond Roggero, Matthew Rotondi, Ryan Ryerson, Katie Scaglione, Ben Schultz, Nicole Sileo, Aleisha Slack, Chris Sobotor, Jordan Stackhouse, Kelly Tillyer, Peter Ballario, Erika Walls, Ryan Waselik, Chris Zachok

Members of the color guard are:

Rebecca Brancato, Taina Brantley, Meghan Coyle, April Cucciniello, Belinda Hoffmann, Miranda Hoffmann, Eva Madero, Amanda Masucci, Melanie Muino, Brendan Strowe, Nina Strowe.

Later Gianuzzi said, “Part of our jobs is to build community among the kids, faculty, staff and community at large. Marching band does that and I am proud of our students for working toward not only being great musicians and marchers but community members themselves.”