NEWTON, NJ – National Park Rangers Bruce and Sara Schundler present an insider’s look at the history of Ellis Island at Main Library, 125 Morris Turnpike, Frankford, on Saturday, October 21 at 1:00 p.m.
In 1890 President Benjamin Harrison designated Ellis Island as the first Federal Immigration Station. Prior to that time immigration had been handled by the individual states. Between 1892, when the new “portal” building opened, and 1954 when the site was closed, over 12 million immigrants passed through.
Don’t miss this fascinating look back at where many of our American stories began. Registration is through the Events Calendar link at sussexcountylibrary.org or by visiting or calling Main Library at 973 948-3660. Walk-ins also welcome if space allows.