SPARTA, NJ - Six names will appear on the ballot for the Sparta Board of Education election this November.  Five candidates will be vying  for three 3-year terms.  Only one candidate has decided to run  to fill the seat previously held by Doug McKernan.  McKernan had to resign because his family moved out of Sparta with one year left to his second term.

The five three-year term candidates are:

  • J Todd Muth
  • Kelly Anne McEvoy
  • Michael McGovern
  • Carey Anne Gluck-Bomensatt
  • Kimberly Bragg

May Abdo known professionally as Dr May Matkiwsky is the one-year term candidate. 

Sign Up for E-News

Incumbents  Muth and McEvoy are seeking a second term.

Bragg was sworn in at the July meeting to finish out the current year in the vacated seat. Bragg is running for a three year term.

Gluck-Bomensatt has run unsuccessfully for the past two years.  Michael McGovern is a new comer to the Sparta Board of Education.