SPARTA. NJ - The newly elected members of the Sparta Board of Education were sworn in on Wednesday night in the auditorium of Mohawk Avenue School.  In front of his wife, children and father Michael McGovern took his oath for the first time.

Joining him were Kelly McEvoy, Kim Bragg and May Abdo Matkiwksy. Matkiwsky will be serving a one-year term, the others will serve until 2019.  Interium Business Administrator Anthony Mistretta administered the oath.  Mistretta has come to to serve as Board Secretary and Business Administrator following the departure of Barbara Decker last month.

The board then selected the new leadership.  Previous President Karen Scott nominated McEvoy for President.  Unopposed McEvoy was unanimously approved to lead the board.  

Sign Up for E-News

McEvoy next nominated Jack Surdoval to be vice president.  Also unopposed, Surdoval was unanimously approved to serve as vice president.  

As they do each year, the board members took turns reading the code of ethics, each taking a different section. 

The new meeting schedule was approved:

  • Monday, January 23, 2017
  • Monday, February 27,2017
  • Monday, March 13, 2017
  • Monday, April 24, 2017 Tentative Public Hearing 2017-2018 Budget
  • Monday, May 22, 2017 Monday, June 26, 2017
  • Monday, July 24, 2017 (SHS Media Center)
  • Monday, August 28, 2017 (SHS Media Center)
  • Monday, September 25, 2017
  • Monday, October 23, 2017
  • Monday, November 20, 2017
  • Monday, December 18, 2017
  • Wednesday, January 3, 2018 Tentative Re-Organization

Committee assignments and liaison positions were tabled until the next regular meeting on Jan. 23. 

Before the meeting adjourned board member Melva Cummings said, “I’d like to thank Karen Scott for her service to the board.”  The sentiment was echoed by the other board members.