SPARTA, NJ – Medals and trophies were handed out over a pizza lunch for the DECA awards ceremony in the Sparta High School media center on Feb 4.  The recipients had done well enough at the regional competition to go on to compete in the States in Cherry Hill next week.

Advisor and Business teacher Sandra Chiapini was the mistress of ceremony assisted by the students.  She called out the names of the individual and group winners to receive their awards.   

To qualify for the competitions students must first take a test.  After passing the test the Sparta DECA students went to the regional competition held at Ramapo University.  There the competition was divided into several different challenges which student tackle either individually or as a group. The challenges can be role play or presentations.   

Sign Up for E-News

In order to participate in the DECA program, students must be enrolled in Marketing class. 

Chiapini said, "I am constantly amazed at how well these students handle themselves in role play situations and how much it prepares them for college and their future careers. We are fortunate to have such a strong program that is supported by the school and the administration.”

Heading to the state competition:

  • Michaela Kayal
  • Jackie Hoffman
  • Brendan Puszcz
  • Joe Spekhardt
  • Cam Estanislau
  • Sara Kujalowicz
  • Serena Arnold
  • Maddie Seeland
  • Melissa Terhune
  • Ray Weisse
  • Madison Purvey
  • Liam Armstrong
  • Daniel Smith
  • Victoria Vatter
  • Alison Gormley
  • Christine Tran
  • Jason Reinhard
  • Molly Schelle
  • Ashley Schoenfeld
  • Gretchen Bowie
  • Jack Bushey
  • Nick Mazzella
  • Shannon Kaminski
  • Melissa Becker
  • Richa
  • Mausam
  • Jarod Sasdi
  • Lauren Danko
  • Emily Sigilio
  • Thomas Ferrara
  • Kelly Carolan
  • James Wang
  • Morgan McBride
  • Victoria Heim
  • Jack Valentine
  • Michael Fricchione
  • Jaida
  • Jeremy Dericks
  • Juliana Kaminski
  • Izzy Livingston
  • Caitlyn Lyons
  • David Sullivan
  • Ben Toscano
  • Kaitlyn Bartholomew
  • Alex Miliken
  • Brendan O’Grady
  • Dan Baker
  • Lenny Fontes
  • Emma Rennie
  • Devon McIntyre
  • Eric Dobrowski
  • Austin Henderson
  • Michael Witten
  • Robbie Senna
  • Max Got