SPARTA, NJ – Sparta High School Athletic Hall of Fame will be inducting their second class of athletes, coaches and teams on October 4.  The dinner will be held at Skyview Golf Club in Sparta beginning at 6 p.m.

This year’s inductees include:

  • Ted Barbato – Athletic Director/Coach
  • Helene Reigstad Geissel -Girls Basketball
  • Ryan McGowan – Soccer
  • Dave Boutilier – Soccer
  • Ed Fulton – Football
  • 1968 Football Team
  • Kevin Michaels – Football, Wrestling, Track
  • Jimmy Wright – Football, Basketball, Baseball,
  • Tommy Wright – Football, Basketball, Track

According to Catherine Willie the Sparta High School Athletic Hall of Fame “preserves the tradition of Sparta High School athletic programs by honoring those who have made a significant contribution to Sparta athletics.”

Sign Up for E-News

To qualify for induction they must have contributed to Sparta athletics as an athlete, team coach or contributor such as a community member, trainer, administrator, Board of Education member.  Athletes and teams become eligible for induction 10 years after graduating from Sparta High School. 

Sparta alumni, coaches and community members must be nominated for consideration.  Nomination and donation forms are available on Sparta High School Athletic page of

Ticket information is available through the Hall of Fame President Tim Librizzi at