SPARTA, NJ-On the evening of May 1 many of Sparta High School's brightest students assembled in the auditorium for the National Honor Society Induction ceremony.  The room was filled with family and friends as 56 new members filled the stage.  They processed to  music of Haydn.  The Woodwind Ensemble, under the direction of Deborah Gianuzzi,  performed Andante from Symphony Number 92.

Honor Society President Emily Mead led the everyone in the Flag Salute.  The Choir, under the direction of Laura Lopez,  then sang the Star Spangled Banner.

Welcoming remarks were given by the principal Daniel Johnson and Emily Mead.  Johnson said, "Scholarship is more than a GPA.  It is a love of learning and lifelong pursuit of that love.  Be lifelong learners."

Sign Up for E-News

Mead said, "I'm probably the most nervous person you will meet, yet I chose to run for an office that would require me to speak in front of so many people. "  She went on to discuss being fearless. "Fearless is having fears and doubts but living with them.  Fearless is to have faith."

In a candlelit ceremony, the four Principals of the National Honor Society were presented; Scholarship by Kacie Lynch, Service by Megan Lepore, Leadership by David Gensheimer and Character by Amanda Marcino.  Emily Mead then led the candidate in the pledge, finally presenting the candidates to the Principal as the newest members of the National Honor Society. 

Kimberly Conlan and Julianna FitzSimons read biographies of each of the new inductees as they received their cords from Superintendent Dennis Tobin.  They will wear gold Honor Society cords around their neck with their stole, cap and gown at graduation. 

The Class of 2015 inductees of Juniors and Seniors are: Justin Allan, David Amiel, Michelle Armstrong, Thomas Bais, Rachel Baker, Julia Brozowski, Aimee Buchanan, Julian Buttitta, Kacey Campbell, Maria Christodoulou, Claudia Connolly, Sebastian Cook, Julia Corrice, Grant Cummings, Julia Earl, Maya Ellington, Lucas Faria, Kalin Hagedorn, Alec Hopper, Sarah Jacobson, Margaret Jent, Timothy Johnson, Michelle Keller, Elise Klimek, Justin Koss, Veronica LaBelle, Alexander Lagasca, Lindsey Levatino, Sarah Levine-Ramirez, Jameson Lowenstein, Kira Manniello, Johnna Margalotti, Emily Maziarski, Shannon McIntyre, Kelly Nam, Jennifer Newton, Taryn Penna, Cassidy Perkinson, Craig Piacentino, Matthew Pincus, Dillon Prendergast, Jillian Raffino, Lindsay Rippey, Brittany Rivera, Jessica Rogers, Matthew Rotondi, Kaitlyn Scaglione, Lauren Scaglione, James, Schoch, Nicole Sileo, Matthew Smith, Tyler Trzcinski, Jeremy Valshtein, Steven, Viola, Cullen Walsh and Austin Zensen.

The next part of the program was for Seniors.  Each presented a yellow rose to a person that the  student wanted to honor as having be a major influence in their life.  Emily Cuan and Steven Vocaturo announced the students and read the dedication as the students presented the flower.

The Choir took the stage once again to perform Sparta High School Alma Mater. The choir members are Henir Brooks, Lauren Coacicco, Kimberly Conlan, Jacob Davis, Angelique Donati, Emily Gaab, Alyssa Gastelu,  Hagedorn,  Johnson, LaBelle, Margalotti, Emily Melberger, Perkinson, Faith Porzilli, Rachel Rippey, Thomas Ruddy, Sara Salton and Anthony Sica. 

The Recessional was accompanied by the Brass Ensemble under the direction of Gianuzzi.  They played Rondeau by Mouret.

The event was organized by advisers Debra Allshouse and Danielle Kopp. 

The Woodwind Ensemble is comprised of Amiel, Julie Daniels, Alyssa Gastelu, Jacobson, Peter Jin, Manniello, Rivera, Schottland, and Sileo.  The Brass Ensemble is comprised of Kate Brennan, Buttitta, Cook, John Puszcz and Valshtein.