SPARTA, NJ – The Sparta Township Council selected new leadership from among the members at the 2020 re-organization meeting on Tuesday night at town hall.

Jerard Muphy has been appointed Mayor.  The vote was 3-2 with Molly Whilesmith and Dan Chiariello voting no.

Christine Quinn will reprise as Deputy Mayor.  The vote was 4-1 with Chiariello the lone disenter.

Sign Up for Sparta Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Council appointments and re-appointments were also made at the meeting. Advisory Boards and Committees:

Cultural Affairs subcommittee- one-year term: Glenn Allan – chairman, Neil Sauerwein, Bernice Verwys, Bill Wright, Stewart Liebman, John Ellis and Steve Hespelt.  Council Liaison – Chiariello

Environmental Commission – Laura Newgard three-year term, Dean Blumetti two-year term.  Council Representative- Chiariello

Library Board of Trustees -five-year staggered term: Doreen Skok.  Council Representative Molly Whilesmith and ex-officio member superintendent of schools

Municipal Alliance Committee – one-year term: Mark Scott, Doug Layman, Marjy Murphy Scott, Brian Hassloch, Jennifer Dericks, Timothy Jackson, Janine Cerra, Jonathan McMeen.  Council representative –Quinn. Ex-officio members- township manager, school board president, superintendent of schools

Planning Board- Class I, Class II and Class III members one-year term:

  • Class I Mayor Designee – Mayor
  • Class II Dr. George Parker
  • Class III Council – Quinn

Recreation Advisory Committee – Staggered terms

  • Three-year term – Jeanne Montemarano, Michelle Brudette, Pat Schultz, Adrianne Pastorino
  • Two-year term – Donna Wainio, Carol Bull, Ben Wright and Arlene Kayne
  • One-year term – Alison Deeney, Mary Coe

Council representative – Dave Smith, Quinn

Senior Advisory Committee – Dorothy Eckweiler, Joan Shaw, Mary Coe, Arlene Kayne, Frederika Link, Eileen Francis, Herbert Stanske, Mary Holovacs, Mary Parker, Marianne Dilworth. Council representative – Smith

Zoning Board – four-year term -Michael Jozefczyk

Economic Development Committee – Ann Sears, Richard T Miner, Duffy Brennan, Nicole Francoeur, Joe Toscano, Joshua Hertzberg, Steven Scro, Michael Sylvester, Nancy Parker, James Hammond, Cathy Dilger, John Finkeldie.  Council representative – Murphy

Government Liaisons:

  • County of Sussex – Murphy and Whilesmith
  • Board of Education  - Whilesmith and Chiariello

Technology Committee: Chiariello, Quinn, William Close

Salute 07871 Committee: Tina Rowan – Chairwoman, Peter Litchfield, Finkledie, Hertzberg. Council representative – Quinn

Fire Marshal Appointments:

  • Fire Marshal – Tom Diveny
  • Assistant Fire Marshals – Jay Luba, Tom McIntyre Jr., John Dmuchowski

Emergency Management Coordinator – Neil Spidaletto and Deputy Coordinator- Close

Designation of Advertising Media/Print – New Jersey Herald, The Star Ledger, The Sparta Independent

Designation of Advertiser Media/ Electronic – TAPinto, New Jersey Herald

Designation of Legal Depositories – Valley National Bank, SB One Bank, First Hope Bank, PNC Bank, State of NJ Cash Management, Lakeland Bank

The township council meetings will continue to be held on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month beginning at 7:30 p.m.


Visit and read your exclusive Sparta news at TAPinto Sparta 24/7 for FREE:

Sign up to receive FREE TAPinto news in your email inbox:

Follow TAPinto on Twitter: @SpartaTAP

Like us on Facebook:

​​Download the FREE TAPinto App!  Click here for Android - Click here for iOS to get news as it is happening.