Sixteen area middle school students were the recipients of the annual Middle School Caring Awards presented by the Sussex County School Counselors Association at a breakfast in the student cafeteria at Sussex County Community College (SCCC) this past Thursday, March 21.

The students who exemplified a caring attitude towards their school and community were recommended for the awards by a guidance counselor from their middle school. Examples of services students participated in include the Red Cross, elder care, and supporting military men and women overseas.
This year’s recipients were Sara Culmone of Lafayette Township School; Victoria DiFabrizzio of Valley Road School, Stanhope; Christopher Geiselhart of Sussex Middle School; Alicia Gonzalez of Byram Township Intermediate School; Gabrielle Harrison of Hopatcong Middle School; Ian Houtman of Franklin Elementary School; Michael Mancuso of Sparta Middle School; Scott Mueller of Ogdensburg School; Katie Nelson of Long Pond School, Andover; Emily Rothamel of Glen Meadow School, Vernon Twp.; Lucas Michael Savarese of Sussex County Charter School; Hannah Squires of Halsted Middle School, Newton; Faith Van De Moere of Kittatiny Regional High School; Emily Vanicek of Hamburg Public School; Destiney Voegele of Hardyston Township School; and Tim Westling of Frankford Township School.