NEWTON, NJ – Fifteen area middle school students were the recipients of the annual Middle School Caring Awards presented by the Sussex County School Counselors Association at a breakfast. The event was held in the Student Center Theater at Sussex County Community College on Tuesday, March 21.

The students who exemplified a caring attitude towards their school and community were recommended for the awards by a guidance counselor from their middle school.

This year’s Middle School Caring Award recipients were

  • Eissar Abou-Jaoude, Halsted Middle School
  • Paul R. Brandt, Sussex County Charter School
  • Jacob Conklin, Hardyston Twp. School
  • Marie Elisa DeCollibus, Lafayette Twp. School
  • Danielle Faltraco, Sussex Middle School
  • Skye Gunderman, Franklin Elementary School
  • Joanna Keegan, Long Pond School, Andover
  • Destiny Kelly, Hopatcong Middle School
  • Christiana Malizia, Glen Meadow, Vernon Twp.
  • Devin Malone, Ogdensburg School
  • Peyton Nichols, Sparta Middle School
  • Luke Owens, Hamburg Public School
  • Stella Stigers, Byram Twp. Intermediate School
  • Oliver Tipton, Frankford Twp. School
  • Lauren Wrigley, Kittatinny Regional Middle School