SPARTA, NJ - Leslie Huhn from Sparta was elected Chairperson of the Sussex County Democratic Committee Tuesday night at the party's Reorganization meeting.  Huhn succeeds Michael Busche, also from Sparta to lead the Democratic Party.  She was approved unanimously by the members of the SCDC. Huhn is only the fourth female Democratic County Chair among 21 counties in NJ.

Dan Chiarello also from Sparta was elected Vice-Chair along with Lisa Murphy from Sparta as Secretary. Diane Wexler from Vernon was re-elected as Treasurer.

The Hampton Diner was crowded with over 50 Democrats in attendance for the meeting. In her closing remarks Chairwoman Huhn said, "I am committed to building an opposition party in Sussex County. It isn't in any of our resident’s interests to continue with one party rule in every aspect of our government. Republicans, Democrats, Independents will all benefit from a true opposition party where our elected officials will have to work hard for our votes and represent the people’s interests in Sussex County."

Democratic candidates for the two New Jersey Legislative 24 District Assembly seats will be Michael F Grace and Jacqueline Stapel.