SPARTA, NJ – The Sparta High School band was not able to perform on the stage in the auditorium, so they had a different stage.  The performers took their instruments outside to perform “en plein air.”

Band teacher Deborah Gianuzzi said, the 7 p.m. front porch concerts were followed by a live Google Meet to celebrate and recognize the senior band members. 

During the video conference, Gianuzzi said the annual band and jazz awards were announced. 

Sign Up for Sparta Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.


  • Sean Ailara
  • Dom Candeloro
  • Daniella Cassano
  • Kaitlyn Chavez
  • Kassidy Chavez
  • Kae DeGiovanni
  • Camryn Gundry
  • Logan Hanek
  • Pat Lynch
  • Andrew Maasbach
  • Zander Papandrikos
  • Sarah Ramirez
  • Alex Ramos
  • Lorenzo Rendina
  • Max Rivielle
  • Tom Scheri
  • Joe Shnyder
  • Lisette Stoute
  • Eric Vincelette
  • Rob Whalen
  • Emily Yarnall

Gianuzzi and Band Teacher Andrew Lopez announced the annual band and jazz awards during the virtual meeting as well. 

  • Symphonic Band Director's Award: Alex Ramos
  • Wind Ensemble Director's Award: Lisette Stoute
  • Blues Inc! Director's Award: Rob Whalen
  • Blues Sanction Director's Award: Kae DeGiovanni
  • Quincy Jones Award: Zander Papandrikos
  • Louis Armstrong Award: Lorenzo Rendina
  • John Philip Sousa Award: Emily Yarnall

“I hope this helps to lift spirits,” Gianuzzi said.