SOUTH BRUNSWICK, NJ – The Sparta High School robotics team brought their Tower Takeover ‘bots to compete at the regional competition on Saturday.  The sub-teams finished on top in several categories and brought home awards. One team ranked came out ranked in the top 5% in the world.

"Our teams, once again, had an excellent day,” Coach Mark Meola said. “They overcame technical obstacles, focused on solving the right problems and as a result came away with a greater depth of knowledge and victories throughout the day."

“[REDACTED]” Team 5249 D finished second in the tournament finals.  Team members Alan Yeung, Tom Scheri, Ryan McQuillan, Sebastian Gomez, Michael Caruso and Anna Tartaglia also earned fifth place for Robot Skills.

Sign Up for Sparta Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

“Ignite” Team 5249 Z went to the quarterfinals.  Their “very impressive” Robot Skills earned them a third place, according to Meola. The team members Karthik Selvaraj, Cameron Ekeman, Ryan Curry, Chris Scheri, Ula Bitinatis, Alex Ramos, Kristen Bradish are currently ranked 159 of 4150 moving them to the top 5% in the world and the season is not over yet, Meola said.

“Iron Patriot” Team 5249 P battled their way to the quarterfinal round of the tournament.  They earned the Design Award for their demonstrated “organized and professional approach to the design process, project, time management and team organization,” Meola said.

The P Team, Sarah Bargfrede, Nick Ventresca, Shaelin Murphy, Anthony Delcoro, Hayden Budofsky, Andy Stefancik had a successful judges’ interview and outstanding Engineering Notebook earning them the award.

“Yorktown” Team 5249 S and “X-Calibur” Team 5249 X finished in the top 10 and competed in the tournament quarterfinals.

The S team members are Sean Ailara, Ian Manske, Moses Hughes, Christopher Angelucci, Akshat Iyer, Ben Lipton.

The 5249 X Team members are Art Got, Nick Casqueira, Bektor Totoshev, Dennis Hartmann, Markus Homann, Noor Elhamouly

The Spartan teams will be competing at the Millburn High School VRC Competition on February 9.