SPARTA, NJ – The board of education has a crowded field of candidates for the 2019 election.  Six candidates will vie for three 3-year seats in November. 

According to Senior Deputy Clerk Angela Rosa from the Sussex County Clerk’s office the ballot will include:

  • Kimberly Bragg,
  • Kurt Morris,
  • Niamh Grano,
  • Vanessa Serrano,
  • James Todd Muth,
  • William Washer III.

Bragg, Morris and Grano have bracketed, to be positioned together on the ballot with the slogan "Academics, Transparency, Community." Washer's slogan is "Sparta First."  Bracketing and slogans were introduced last year as an option for board of education candidates.

The current board president Kelly McEvoy and board member Michael McGovern have chosen not to run for reelection.