SPARTA, NJ – Main Street, typically festooned with seasonal banners, is getting a new look.  The first phase of the Hometown Heroes banners have been hung, to celebrate Spartans who have served or currently serve in the military.

The banners, paid for through sponsorships, include the name, rank, branch and an image of the service  member.  The initiative is being organized by the newly created Sparta 07871 committee.

"It's an honor to be part of the Salute 07871 team and to bring initiatives such as "Hometown Heroes 07871' into the community," Sparta VFW Commander Peter Litchfield said.  "We received great feedback."  

Sign Up for Sparta Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

LItchfield said some of the comments he has heard include "that these banners honoring those who serve add so much character to our community,"  Another comment he heard was that in these decisive times one thing we can all agree on is to honor those servicemen and women in our community who protect us everyday."

"They bring a sense of pride and belonging to all our residents," Litchfield said.

The first banners celebrate:

  • John Paul Beebe, US Coast Guard
  • Melissa Bell, US Army
  • Eugene Blaine, US Coast Guard
  • John Bramley, US Marines
  • Kyle Bruffy, US Army
  • Adam Carbery, US Army
  • Edward Casey, US Air Force
  • Kaitlyn Clemens, US Air Force
  • Daniel Colfax, US Marines
  • Anthony Cramer, US Army
  • Kara Domareki, US Air Force
  • John Durkot, US Marines
  • Gary Emmich, US Air Force
  • Thomas Falco, US Army
  • John Finkeldie, US Marines
  • Bob Forrester, US Air Force
  • Dan Forrester, US Air Force
  • Brian Hassloch, US Air Force
  • Matthew Hassloch, US Army
  • William Hayden, US Marines
  • Scott Heckenberger, US Air Force
  • Vincent Householder, US Army
  • George Jones, US Air Force
  • Scott Kearny, US Marines
  • Kevin Klumpp, US Air Force
  • Kosa, Ernest, US Army 
  • Michael Krapels, US Army
  • Eric Kut, US Air Force
  • Ashley Lally, US Army
  • Vincent Lally, US Army
  • Peter Litchfield, US Marines
  • William Maloney, US Army
  • Daniel Mastriani, US Marines
  • Samuel Nazzaro, US Marines
  • Ronald Pace, US Marines
  • Johnathan Poon, US Marines
  • Michael Poon, US Marines
  • Brandon Pratt, US Air Force
  • John Quinn, US Army
  • Scott Rogoff, US Navy
  • Liam Rowan, US Marines
  • Raymond Scally, US Army
  • James Schloch, US Army
  • Andrew Smetana, US Navy
  • Daniel Smith, US Air Force
  • Peter Smith, US Air Force
  • Michael Snyder, US Marines
  • Thomas Snyder, US Army
  • Christopher Tantilli, US Army
  • Alexandra Tanzola, US Army
  • Bryant Tomlin, US Air Force
  • Scott Trageser, US Air Force
  • Michael Van Poots, US Navy
  • Joseph Ziegler, US Air Force

The Salute 07871 committee was formed in March 2019.  The five members including a township council member, serve one-year terms.  The members are; Tina Rowan, Chairwoman, Litchfield, John Finkledie, Josh Hertzberg and Deputy Mayor Christine Quinn.  

At the township council meeting on Tuesday night, Quinn said the second phase may be timed to be displayed for the July fourth celebrations.

The form can be completed online.  Donations are gladly accepted whether or not they are connected to a specific service member.  Donations can be made to Salute 07871, c/o Sparta VFW Post #7248, 66 Main Street, Sparta, NJ 0781.  Organizers request you write Salute 07871 in the check memo field.