RANDOLPH, NJ – For only the fourth time in the 62 years of little league baseball in Sparta, the U12 All Star team will represent North Jersey Section 1 in the New Jersey State Little League finals.

On Tuesday, July 16 the team defeated Wayne 10-3 to capture the Section 1 title.  On their way to the title the Spartans defeated Par Troy West and Ridgewood in the quarterfinals. 

Four teams will play for the state title. There will be two teams from Northern Jersey, one from Central and one from South Jersey.  Elmora Youth from District 7- Elizabeth won the Section 2 Championship.  The other two teams have yet to be determined.  

Sign Up for Sparta Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

According to coach Steve Coleman, since the beginning of the tournament in 1957 no team from Sussex county has ever won the state title.

Sparta will play Elmora Youth on Thursday, July 25.  The Section 3 and 4 title teams will play each other later that night. The double elimination tournament will be hosted by District 10 Sayerville.  The winner of this tournament will be determined by July 29, depending on how the teams fare.  The winner will represent New Jersey in the Mid Atlantic Regional tournament in Bristol, Connecticut.  Leagues from Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania comprise the Mid Atlantic Region.

Teams playing in Bristol will be battling for the chance to play in the Little League World Series in Williamsport, Pennsylvania. The series in Williamsport will run August 15 to 25 with teams from across the United States and the world.

The u12 All Star team:

  • Brett Beierle,
  • Henri Coleman,
  • Colin Gallagher,
  • Tyler Harms,
  • Wes Johnston,
  • Colin Maher,
  • Ray Manning,
  • Miles Masone,
  • Anthony Patrickio,
  • Brandon Sanagorski,
  • Braden Schappert,
  • Katie Sutton,
  • Jeff Sutton – Manager,
  • Steve Coleman – Coach,
  • Ray Manning – Coach,
  • Brain Harms - Coach