LINDEN, NJ – Sometimes history does repeat itself.  Dayton’s Evan Weinberg was the top seeded bowler in the UCT Individual Tournament just as he was in 2016.  Just like 2016 he went on to win the UCT Individual Title.

This time he faced the defending champion Luis Torres of Roselle High School.  Before getting to that match, Weinberg earned the top-seed of the step-ladder bracket by bowling a 667 Tuesday after bowling a 709 on Monday’s opening day of the Tournament.

In the final match against Torres, Weinberg rolled a 233 to better Torres’ game of 209.  Torres was the fifth seed and he beat the sixth seeded bowler by just two pins.  He also eliminated the fourth third and second seeds to reach the final.

Sign Up for E-News

Scott Maran of Dayton also qualified for the Individual Tournament.

The UCT Boys Individual qualifying scores follow:  1. Evan Weinberg (Dayton), 1,376; 2. Andrew Beach (Johnson), 1,326; 3. Kevin Oliveria (Union), 1,303; 4. Anthony Golabek (Linden), 1,275; 5. Luis Torres (Roselle) 1,263; 6. James Fitz (Linden), 1,261; 7. Nick Melchionna (Union) 1,233; 8. Dylan Kurstedt (Westfield) 1,221; 9. Matthew Soto (Linden) 1,193; 10. Elijah Boone (Plainfield) 1,185; 11. Justin Peters (Linden) 1,152; 12. LeeDar Sneor (Scotch Plains) 1,106; 13. Austin Torres (Roselle) 1,088; 14. Scott Maran (Dayton) 1,043. is Springfield’s free daily news source. Sign up for our daily eNews and follow us on Facebook and Twitter @TAPSpringfield.

Download the TAPinto App!  Click here for Android.  Click here for iOS.