Dayton Coed Varsity Golf: Some New Kids in Town

Scott Maran Credits: Chip Dickson

SPRINGFIELD, NJ – The entire 2016 varsity roster returned for the 2017 season.  Most of the team’s starters graduated last year. 

Coach Dave Campbell put things in perspective and said, “The graduating seniors were a stellar group that won the Valley Division of the Union County Conference the last two seasons.  The three returning letter winners are Scott Maran, Alex Sirotkin and Sarah Roderick.  They will need to elevate their games and young players will have to step up for a conference title to be a possibility this year.”

Also returning this year are seniors Jacob Thompson, Zach Martini and Kevin Kennedy; juniors Julia Cohen, Sayre Brandstatter, Tyler Kwinta and Catherine Miller; and sophomore Matt Zeiman,.  New to the team are senior Angelina Cacioppo; junior Noah Coehlo; sophomore Bertram Groenborg; and freshmen Aiden Forys, Brett Netkin, Jordan Berkowitz, Ryan Disko and Jeremy Greiss.

Sign Up for E-News

This is Coach Dave Campbell’s third year as head coach of the golf team.  He is also assistant coach of the girls basketball team and teaches third grade at James Caldwell Elementary School.

Besides success on the golf course, seniors on last year’s team ended up enrolled at Penn State University (2), University of Wisconsin, Rutgers and Seton Hall.  Players on this year’s team get the opportunity to play around 20 competitive rounds of golf at a variety of courses including a few considered among some of the best in the country.

Dayton is in North 2 Section 1.  The other high school teams in it are Blevidere, Dumont, Glen Ridge, Hasbrouck Heights, Hopatcong, James Caldwell, Lenape Valley, Leonia, Lincoln, Malcolm X Shabazz, Mountain Lakes, North Arlington, Palisades Park, Ridgefield Memorial and Verona.

Dayton’s 2018 Golf Schedule

April 2 - 3:00 p.m.       Ramney School                      Baltusrol Golf Club

April 4 – 3:45 p.m.       Union Catholic Regional         Ashbrook Golf Club

April 9 – 3:15 p.m.       Scotch Plains-Fanwood          Baltusrol Golf Club

April 16 – 3:30 p.m.     Roselle Park HS                     Baltusrol Golf Club

April 17 – 3:15 p.m.     Summit HS                             Canoe Brook

April 18 – 3:15 p.m.     Elizabeth HS                           Galloping Hill

April 19 – 3:15 p.m.     Madison HS                            Morris County Golf Club

April 23 – 3:15 p.m.     David Brearley HS                  Baltusrol Golf Club

April 24 – 3:30 p.m.     Bergenfield HS                       Knickerbocker

April 25 – 4:00 p.m.     Hillside HS                              TBD

April 26 – 3:15 p.m.     Cranford HS                           Ashbrook Golf Club

April 30 – 3:30 p.m.     Madison HS                            Galloping Hill

May 1 – 3:15 p.m.       Elizabeth HS                           Galloping Hill

May 2 – 3:15 p.m.       Governor Livingston HS         Ashbrook Golf Club

May 3 – 3:15 p.m.       Plainfield HS                           TBD

May 7 – 3:15 p.m.       Glen Ridge HS                        TBD

May 8 – 3:15 p.m.       Union HS                                Suburban Golf Club

May 9 – 3:15 p.m.       Union Catholic Regional         Shackamaxon Country Club

May 10 – 4:00 p.m.     Ranney School                       Trump National Golf Club

May 14 – 3:15 p.m.     David Brearley HS                  Ashbrook Golf Club

May 15 – 3:30 p.m.     A.L. Johnson HS                     Hyatt Hills

May 16 – 3:45 p.m.     Hillside HS                              Galloping Hill

May 21 – 3:15 p.m.     Roselle Park HS                     Galloping Hill

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


Summer Life Guard Job Opportunity in Union County

April 9, 2018

UNION COUNTY, NJ - Summer lifeguard positions are available at Union County’s public swimming pool, the Walter Ulrich Memorial Pool at Rahway River Park in Rahway.

“Union County’s Ulrich Pool provides our youth and adult summer job seekers with an opportunity to enjoy working outdoors in the fresh air all summer long while sharpening valuable life skills including leadership, ...

Thank You, St. Joseph's Volunteers

April 17, 2018

Thank You from St. Joseph Social Service Center

In recognition of National Volunteer Week, we would like to express our gratitude to the countless volunteers that serve the poor and homeless at St. Joseph Social Service Center in Elizabeth (  Whether you make a sandwich, collect toiletries, tutor in the job program, make soup, wrap Christmas gifts, donate food, ...

Travels Spotlight: New Brunswick Ciclovia opens 2018 Season

April 18, 2018

NEW BRUNSWICK  – New Brunswick Ciclovia will open its 2018 season on Sunday, April 22 for another fun day of open streets and active living for all. 

Now in its fifth year, New Brunswick Ciclovia is a family-friendly event that emphasizes healthy living and community building by opening our streets and offering programming for all to enjoy. From 11 a.m. to 4 p.m., more ...

Youth Reining National Championship Qualifiers To Be Held in NY & NJ

April 18, 2018

LEXINGTON, Ky. — The 2018 US Equestrian (USEF) Youth Reining National Championships are set to take place during the Tulsa Reining Classic on Friday, Aug. 31, at 5:30 p.m. in Tulsa, Okla. The qualifying period ends Aug. 1 so there is still time for youth competitors to take advantage of the upcoming qualifying events for a chance to compete for the title.

Local riders can qualify at the ...

Upcoming Events

Thu, April 19, 10:00 AM

American Legion Post 433, New Providence

Summit College Club Book Donations

Arts & Entertainment Giving Back

Thu, April 19, 10:00 AM

American Legion Post 433, New Providence

Summit College Club Book Donations

Arts & Entertainment Giving Back

Thu, April 19, 6:00 PM

The Park Savoy, Florham Park

CASA Casino Night

Arts & Entertainment Food & Drink Giving Back Government Law & Justice