Jonathan Dayton High School 2017 Senior Awards: Academic and Overall Achievement

Heart of Dayton Award to Madison Morley with Principal Dr. Norman Francis Credits: Chip Dickson
Union County Superintendents' Scholars Emily Hochreiner and Sabrina Sequeira with Dr. Norman Francis Credits: Chip Dickson
National Honor Society Scholarship to Alexa Morreale with Teacher of the Year Christopher White Credits: Chip Dickson
U.S. Army Reserve/National Scholar-Athlete Awards to Seana Flood and Kyle DeJohn with Sgt. Hector Orta Credits: Chip Dickson
U.S. Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award to Emily Hochreiner with Sgt. Edwers Credits: Chip Dickson
Computer Science Award to Gregory Wolz with Gregory Salmon, Supervisor of Science Credits: Chip Dickson
American Mathematics Competition - Emily Hochreiner with Gregory Salmon, Supervisor of Sciences Credits: Chip Dickson
Academic Excellence Awards to Helisoa Randriamanana, Roberto Rios, Destiny Martens and Emily Hochreiner with Principal Dr. Norman Francis Credits: Chip Dickson
Academic Excellence in English to Sabrina Sequeira with Principal Dr. Norman Francis Credits: Chip Dickson
Academic Excellence Awards to Emily Hochreiner, Kyle DeJohn and Jared Horowitz with Principal Dr. Norman Francis Credits: Chip Dickson
Academic Excellence in Math to Shir Kalati, Sabrina Sequeira and Emily Hochreiner with Principal Dr. Norman Francis Credits: Chip Dickson
The Bulldog Awards Credits: Chip Dickson

SPRINGFIELD, NJ - Some students seem to excel in many ways during their time at Jonathan Dayton High School.  This article highlights the students receiving awards and scholarships for academics as well as overall achievement.  Separate articles appeared highlighting the Teacher of the YearAthletic AwardsCommunity Groups and Alumni, and Language, Music and Service

Memorial awards and scholarships will be highlighted in a another article(s). 

Academic and Overall Awards and Scholarships & Recipients

Sign Up for E-News

National Merit Scholarship Program – Emily Hochreiner Commended

National Honor Society Scholarship to Alexa Morreale

 “Heart of Dayton” Principal’s Service and School Spirit Scholarship to Madison Morley

Jonathan Dayton Faculty Scholarship to Sabrina Sequeira

NJSIAA Outstanding Scholar Athlete Award to Karly Fitzpatrick

Union County Superintendents’ Award to Emily Hochreiner and Sabrina Sequeira

U.S. Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award to Emily Hochreiner

United States Army Reserve National Scholar-Athlete Award to Kyle DeJohn and Seana Flood

Union County Scholar Athlete to Jared Horowitz and Marinna Kwinta

Computer Science Award to Karol Rivera Solano and Gregory Wolz

American Mathematics Award to Emily Hochreiner

​​​​​​​Jonathan Dayton Awards for Academic Excellence 

English:  Sabrina Sequeira

Italian:  Maria Finis

Spanish:  Sabrina Sequeira

Mathematics:  Emily Hochreiner, Shir Kalati and Sabrina Sequeira

Science:  Emily Hochreiner

Social Studies:  Destiny Martins

Physical Education:  Emily Hochreiner and Joseph Volfman

Practical Arts:  Roberto Rios

Performing Arts:  Kyle DeJohn

Business:  Jared Horowitz

Visual Art:  Helisoa Randriamanana

Technology:  Marisa Ahrens

Bulldog Awards to Adam Berkowitz, Joshua Damast, Justin Ehly, Rachel Engel, Francesco Forte, Victoria Hernandez, Jessica Mahoney, Darren Maraj, Aroniaina Randriamanana and Julia Saladiino

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


Union County Students to 'March for Our Lives' Saturday in Union

March 19, 2018

UNION, NJ – Students from all over Union County will be walking from Burnet Middle School to Town Hall on Saturday morning, March 24, in an anti-gun violence march.

Led by steering committee chairman Colin Sumner, the march, which has the support of Senator Joseph Cryan, Moms Demand Action, Union County Chapter, and the Union County Freeholders, is not aimed at taking away guns, but ...

Unity and purpose will allow Democrats to unseat Lance

March 11, 2018

In November, we have a chance to unseat Leonard Lance, Congressman for the NJ-7 district which includes Springfield. Leonard Lance voted to take away healthcare from his constituents and recently stood by as his party passed a tax plan in which his district became the second most negatively impacted district in the COUNTRY.  Lance is an enemy of a woman’s right to control her body but ...

Hillsborough: Suspended HS Athletic Director Charged with Theft

March 19, 2018

HILLSBOROUGH, NJ - Suspended Hillsborough High School Athletic Director Michael Fanizzi has been arrested and charged with the theft of $10,704 in athletic event receipts over a four-year period from 2013-2017, according to Somerset County Prosecutor Michael H. Robertson.

Fanizzi, 53, a resident of Conover Way in Hillsborough who had been athletics director for 14 years, had been suspended ...

UC Tech Student Volunteers Put Fun and Games to Work for Special Needs Learners

March 20, 2018

SCOTCH PLAINS, NJ -- Earlier this month, a group of 51 students in grades 9 to 11 from the Teacher Education Academy at UC TECH staged an indoor carnival for special needs learners. More than 140 participants from the community attended the event and enjoyed plinko, corn hole, dance revolution, hula hoop activities, a DJ, prizes and more.

UC TECH is part of the Union County ...