SPRINGFIELD, NJ—Six educators in the township’s public schools were honored Monday by the Springfield Board of Education as 2016-2017 Teachers of the Year and winners of the Governor’s Educator of the Year Awards.

The honorees were:

  • Deborah Ricardo, a first grade teacher at the Edward V. Walton School
  • Christine Heron, a third grade teacher at the James Caldwell School
  • Kimberly Noto, an art teacher at the Thelma L. Sandmeier School
  • Jason Perone, an eighth grade science teacher at the Florence M. Gaudineer Middle School
  • Christopher White, a mathematics teacher at Jonathan Dayton High School
  • Bonnie Loew, a guidance counselor at Sandmeier