Springfield Voter Turnout 12 Percent, Township Committee Candidates Set

Credits: tapinto.net

SPRINGFIELD, NJ – In an election with the local results decided, Springfield voter turnout was a modest 12 percent and lower than Union County’s turnout of 13.7 percent.

There were two Township seats being contested in November.  The seats are current occupied by Republicans, Diane Stampoulos and Maria Vassallo.  Stampoulos is not running for reelection.

The Democrat candidates are Chris Weber and Alex Keiser.  The Republican candidates are former Mayor Jerry Fernandez and Vassallo.  Weber received the most votes of any candidate on the ballot, 894.  Keiser received 868 votes.  Vassallo received 311 and Fernandez received 306.

Sign Up for E-News

Democrat candidate Keiser said, "I am honored to be chosen tonight and looking forward to November. Chris and I are the better candidates with better ideas.  We will take it in November from the local level to the top of the ballot.  Our base is energized."

Republican candidate Vassallo said, "It is interesting to watch the percentages for Springfield voters in the primary election.  However, I don't truly believe it is a true reflection of what to expect in the general election.  Jerry Fernandez and I look forward to a very rewarding and successful campaign season."

Registered Democrats represent 36 percent of Springfield voters compared to 19 percent for registered Republicans.  For Union County, 46 percent of the voters are registered Democrats and 15 percent are registered Republicans.  In New Jersey, 37 percent of the voters are registered Democrats and 21.5 percent are registered Republicans.

For the national contests, the winning Democrat candidate for the House of Representatives, Tom Malinowski, received the most votes of any national candidate.  He got 753 votes.  The other Democrat candidates, Peter Jacob and Goutam Jois, received 156 and 74 votes, respectively.

On the Republican side, incumbent Leonard Lance received 281 votes, which was more than 85 percent of the votes cast for a Republican Congressional candidate.

For Senate, the Democrat’s race was closest with incumbent Robert Menendez receiving 605 votes and challenger Lisa McCormack receiving 412 votes.  Robert Hugin won the Republican contest with over 89 percent of the vote cast with 296.

In the Freeholder race, all qualifying Democrat candidates received more votes than any national candidate.  Andrea Staten, incumbent Alexander Mirabella and Kimberly Mouded received votes of 761, 758, and 756, respectively. 

The three Republican Freeholder candidates are Peter Kane, Joseph Sarno III and Patricia Quattrocchi.  They received 308, 306 and 304 votes, respectively.

TAPintoSpringfield.net is Springfield’s free daily news source. Sign up for our daily eNews and follow us on Facebook and Twitter @TAPSpringfield.

Download the TAPinto App!  Click here for Android.  Click here for iOS.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


Students Lead ‘Die-In’ at Congressman Lance’s Westfield Office; Summit Boy Arrested

June 13, 2018

WESTFIELD, NJ — Seventeen-year-old Summit High School student Ben Schachter was taken away in handcuffs Tuesday during a gun safety “die-in” protest led by local high school students at Congressman Leonard Lance's Westfield office. Lance was not present at the office at the time.

“We are organizing this ‘die-in’ at Congressman Lance’s ...

Get Empowered to Help Prevent Suicide

June 9, 2018

Over the past week social media and the news have been filled with stories and articles encouraging people to seek help if they’re in emotional distress. There have been countless articles about the need to break the silence around the topic of mental health and suicide, and I am encouraged by the support people are extending to others.

Often, the death by suicide by prominent ...

Gov. Murphy still pushing a millionaire's tax, won’t say when he'll sign sports betting, weed bills

June 8, 2018

NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ - With a showdown on the state budget looming just 22 days away, Gov. Phil Murphy today re-emphasized his call for a tax on the state’s wealthiest households while hoping to avoid another shutdown of state government.

“Do I still want a millionaire’s tax? The answer is ‘yes,’ “ Murphy said at a press conference at the John ...

Beatles Lecture @ Union Public Library

June 18, 2018

The Union Public Library will be hosting an interactive lecture about the early years of the Beatles on Monday, July 9th at 6:30 p.m as part of its “Libraries Rock!” summer series.  Presenter Paul Groom, who lived the first 17 years of his life in Liverpool, England and went to some of the same schools as the Beatles, will discuss the lesser known Beatles story about their days ...